We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Does it get any better than this?”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manitoba
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow! Does it get any better than this?”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Sandpearl Resort at the end of August and what a place! The resort and grounds are gorgeous with attention to details evident. We were here just before the Republican National Conference so they had an elephant sand sculpture in the lobby. Very cute.

Rooms were well appointed with comfortable bedding and wonderful bath products. I really liked that this resort does it's part for the environment.....when the sliding glass door to the balcony is opened, the A/C shuts off. Wonderful! Which leads me to the view! DEFINITELY pay the upgrade to get a gulf front room. The sunsets and view from the balcony were second to none!

The only downside to our stay, and this is not at all the fault of the good people at the Sandpearl, was that the threat of Hurricane Isaac was looming so the pool and the pool side restaurant shut down our second afternoon/evening there. Again, this was no fault of the resort...just one of those things.

We did not try out either restaurant here (Caretta on the Gulf was a little too pricey for a family of 4 for supper. Tate Island Grill was packed our first night there and closed due to hurricane the second night there) so no comments to be made about them. We ended up eating at the Clearsky Restaurant right across the street from the Sandpearl. Quite good - especially breakfast.

The concierge was helpful and booked us an excursion on one of the several boat tours. After walking down to the boat to check it out, we changed our mind. It was a pontoon boat with what looked like lawn chairs. Several other tours had signs up that they were closed due to the looming hurricane, so we decided that for our safety, we should not go ahead with the boat tour.

It was a pricey 2 night stay, but this is one of those resorts that you stay at for a special occasion, not every weekend. Definitely worth it if you are thinking of Clearwater Beach.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a gulf front room. You're already paying good money to stay here - m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear SaKon,
I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the resort and your gulf front room. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    511
    188
    72
    51
See reviews for
1,005
768
17
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Sandpearl logo flows. Look at it long enough and you'll be thinking about the best sunset ever, the gentle movement of the gulf on a peaceful day, the softness of luxury surrounded by the pleasant harmony of nature.
The Sandpearl offers all this and more.

With the Thanksgiving holiday approaching, I'm reminded of the wonderful Thanksgiving past that I spent at Sandpearl. I whole-heartedly recommend it as a great way to enjoy the holiday. The buffet will not disappoint, dine on the balcony overlooking the Gulf, no cooking, no dishes! The cabanas accommodate the various needs of a diverse group and it's kid friendly.

In case you haven't visited Clearwater Beach in a few years, the North end of the beach has been mansionized.
I give five stars to the architects of Sandpearl for their creative solutions to the challenges. The ascent to the
elevated entry and valet parking begins at the sidewalk with a circular drive that opens to ample space for unloading and double parking. At night the grounds twinkle and glow with well planned lighting. This high function area has the ambience of a private resort.

Favorites: all that others have previously posted, and especially the staff. They were un-scripted, friendly, clean cut, tuned-in, always helpful and professional.
Additionally, I noticed Sandpearl has art work by local artists.
Kudos Sandpearl for supporting local talent.

Dislikes: The expansive open lobby is a great space, but falls short on the decorative side. The furnishings caused me to wonder if the random pieces were pulled from leftover stock from a hotel project located in another country.

Trust the five star ratings even though mine is a four. There is so much right about The Sandpearl that I've raised the bar for my five spot because of their potential reach it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Thepinion,
WOW! Thank you for your beautiful description of your most recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the resort and its ambiance. We certainly appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I have stayed at several top hotels in the St. Pete- Clearwater Beach area, including the renowned Don Cesar. The Sandpearl has just become my overwhelming favorite.

Our stay began on Labor Day weekend when the hotel was sold out. Even when filled to capacity, the resort felt spacious. The staff was extremely attentive. We had minor maintenance issues (TV not working). It was most impressive how the staff responded and addressed the problem within minutes. If you're considering a stay at the Sandpearl vs. other hotels or destinations, here's what I think you need to know:

The good: 1) The rooms are well-appointed.

2) The property is maintained meticulously: You won't see trash, rust, or weeds here.

3) There are plenty of reasonably-priced restaurants within walking distance: The Clear Sky Cafe and Frenchy's are great. You don't need a car because you can walk to just about anything you'd want in Clearwater Beach.

The bad: 1) The staff is extremely tolerant of people drinking and smoking in the pool. Understandably, they don't want to risk offending guests. But letting people smoke and bring glass beer bottles in the water creates a safety hazard. Even when we pointed this out to the staff, they did nothing.

2) The Tate Island Grill along with nearly every other restaurant in Clearwater Beach is all about being a loud beach bar that happens to serve food. If you're not ordering booze (and lots of it), you won't get much attention from the servers. That's a shame, because the food at the Grill is darned good and priced reasonably.

A few drunks and smokers notwithstanding, the Sandpearl is still family-friendly. The kids and families there seemed to be having a wonderful time. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, I'd avoid a weekend stay.

The awesome:

1)The Sandpearl sits on a gorgeous beach. You won't find a nicer one anywhere in the area.

2) The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

3) The bread pudding at the Clear Sky Cafe next door is not to be missed. Neither is Frenchy's Super Grouper sandwich.

Overall, the Sandpearl strikes a great balance: It's not a bargain hotel. But it's not a place where you fell price-gouged either. If it's worth a few extra bucks to you to stay in a place that's dedicated to making guests happy, you'll probably want to stay there.

Room Tip: The place is packed with screaming kids on weekends-- and delightfully tranquil on weeknights. Plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloha410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Aloha410,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your most recent stay. I am so pleased that you found our resort staff to be so friendly and accommodating. I have shared your comments with our management team so we can continue to provide all of our guests with a safe and memorable experience. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
so. nh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed at the Sandpearl for 3 nights in March 2012. Everything was top-notch, rooms clean, staff friendly. Everything about it was expensive, but worth it for a relaxing few days in the sun. The sand at the beach is the softest I have ever felt, and the view from our ocean view room was fantastic. We didn't eat on the property except for lunch served to us at the beach from a fairly limited menu. I hadn't read much good about the restaurants on site, so we ventured off the property for breakfast and dinner, mostly eating at the Clear Sky Cafe which was right next door. We tried the spa which was also lovely. Would definitely come back even though I think it's a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpmacmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Kpmacmill,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your most recent stay here at the Sandpearl Resort. I am so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have just returned from holiday and spent a great two days at the sandpearl resort from arriving at the hotel we were made to feel special. The rooms were spacious, very clean and of a high quality. The staff were very helpful at all times. The pool was great with plenty of sunbeds. Great location right on the beach. We would deifinitely stay here again when we return to Clearwater. The only downside was that we were not staying for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Craig541,
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sandpearl Resort. I am glad you found our staff to be helpful and that your time spent here you felt special. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,214 reviews
0.8 km away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 98 in Clearwater
582 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,577 reviews
3.0 km away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price range (per night): $371 - $747
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Preferred Hotels, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing