We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing :)”
other travellers have booked this property
Featured in Beach by Design as Old Florida District
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Featured in Beach by Design as Old Florida District
Blue Corner Cottage, Historic Beach House Granite counter tops,  brass antique walls, stainless steel fridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Featured in Beach by Design as Old Florida District
Blue Corner Cottage, Historic Beach House
Granite counter tops,  brass antique walls, stainless steel fridge
Corner Cottage day bed, sleeps 5
Corner Cottage one Bedroom House, tile kitchen table
Corner Cottage dining room one bedroom house
Remodeled antique kitchen with black granite counter tops
Corner Cottage one bedroom house, white wood headboard
Cottages along Mandalay Ave
Remodeled antique kitchen
Capt. Al offers free boat trips in summer when time permits and good weather
Blue Corner Cottage, Historic Beach House
2 sofabeds in living room
Corner Cottage Vanity, 2 shower heads
Fun, Funky, Key West style backyard
Olympic size pool 2.5 blocks walk
Karen's clubhouse, nautical inspired recreation area
Recreation area, outside dining table
Corner Cottage Front Door
Recreation area
Teens having fun in hot tub at night
New Stainless steel appliances
Clear water Cottages sign in front of Corner Cottage
Pets ok to swim in Gulf 3 blocks from Clearwater Cottages
Your Beach at the end of the block  150 steps away
Cottage Counselors Karen, Dolphin, Capt.Al welcome  you for a fun beach vacation
Kids love the water park and slides, free passes in summer
Fun , funky bedroom ,
Kids love the water park in summer, free passes 10
No streets to cross
Your beach 150 steps away
Hand made doors and 1920 s  shower
You may  Capt.Al s green canoe , bikes, water sport toys, beach chairs
Entrance behind house to fun recreation area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Clearwater, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeakValen...
Colorado Springs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the Hilton, Eclectic - Funky - Functional”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The Good and Bad of our Christmas Vacation at the cottages:
Synopsis: No surprises, walk to beach, not the Hilton, nice host, great hottub
The Good -
• twenty yards from the beach
• very nice, large and inviting hot tub
• funky
• bikes and beach toys made available
• the kindness and hospitality of our host – Capt Al – (we were invited over for Christmas dinner.)
• Two separate buildings – one for our four teens, one for mom/dad and 6yr old.
• Kitchen to cook/eat (no need for restaurants)
• Ten yards from the beach
• Willingness to work with our teen when a bike he borrowed was stolen.
The Bad –
• Captain Al was gracious, and the cottages eclectic, however, we had expectation of professionalism – like having toilet paper when requested.
• The clutter, “mixed fabrics”, and state of dis-repair was a little much, but again, this is not the Hilton.
• The road noise and noise from the islands most popular bar called Ship Wreck on the first night was troublesome, but discovered if we turned on the AC, the white noise drowned it out.
• Although we verbally agreed to the price ahead of time, I needed to go back several times to refine what was agreed. In the end, the price was fair, but flyers left in the cottages suggested they rent for $30/less than what we agreed to
• Beware, this is not the Hilton. We booked their originally, but changed when we saw the bad reviews, thought it would cost us dearly for food and beach time. I missed the cleanliness and comfort of the Hilton’s beds. The cottages are in need of new sheets mattress and bedding.

Overall – recommend the hotel mainly on the fact Captain Al is so cool and nice, the location, and the hottub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So close to the beach
Liked least: the bedding and lack of TP
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2013
Dear Valentine:
Thank you for your review of of the Cottages and your XMAS family Christmas holiday. We are glad your family enjoyed a great beach vacation with the beach just twenty yards/steps away. You did indeed save a lot of money by not staying at the HIlton as there is were no bicycle rental fees, pool hot tub resort fee, or parking fees at the Cottages, and you got to cook all your meals. The flyers for $30 less are for slow season not XMAS week. Thank you for recommending the Cottages and that Captain Al is so cool. I know you guys had a really great time, other than getting the bicycle stolen, as only a the Cottages can the whole family sit in the Jacuzzi and watch DVD TV in the middle of night.
P.S. You guys are pretty cool too.
Capt. Al
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OH
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Dec 2013
Dear Guests:
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad the Corner Cottage had everything you need. Capt. Al and Karen welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, charming cottages”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed in the Grandview and then the Lemon Cottage during our 4 night stay and we absolutely loved them both. The kitchens were clean with all the utensils, pots, plates and kitchen stuff you need to cook. We found both cottages to be fairly spacious for a 1 bedroom and the location is unbeatable. The beach isn't even a minute walk and the restaurants and shops are barely a 10 minute walk. As said in other reviews this isn't a 5 star resort but for the right fit this is a perfect vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to the beach and being able to cook our own meals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2013
Dear Eat Sleep Smile:
Thank you for your kind review of our "charming cottages". Capt.Al and Karen are happy you had a great time the kitchens were perfect for all your cooking needs. Hope to see you soon.
Capt. Al and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Mar 2013
Dear Mary:
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you got enjoy our cute little cottage steps from the beach and disconnected from your busy techno- world. Very well put, if you technology stay at a hotel, but if you need the beach, well here it is.
Capt. Al
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jan 2013
Dear HS:'
Thank you for spending New Years at Clearwater Cottages and we are really glad you got enjoy some OLD FLORIDA, what's left. Appreciate your kind words and hope to see you see.
Capt. Al and the Cottage Counselors
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing