We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples dinner”
Review of Tarpon Bay

Tarpon Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Tarpon Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 221 Restaurants in Bonita Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Tamiami Trail-41
Description: Enjoy gorgeous fountain and lake views from the screened porch of this Florida inspired seafood restaurant. Jutting out over the water, Tarpon Bay has a beach cottage vibe, where colorful lanterns keep watch over each table and a palette of soft turquoise and creamy beige complement the lush gardens just beyond our doors. Our chef infuses the freshest seafood with innovative combinations of herbs and spices for a truly memorable meal, designed to match the fresh and lively scenery. Find a seat at the inviting bar for a drink, while enjoying fantastic live music on Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday mornings. You'll be in for a truly memorable experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is on the grounds of the Hyatt Coconut point Hotel. We enjoyed a cozy dinner for two at this delicious restaurant. Very well decorated it felt like the Hamptons. White Shiplap walls very upscale. Beautiful fire pit outside. Fresh oysters.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Given the prices, the meal wasn't as expected and ultimately disappointing.
We were seated promptly on the porch as requested - the restaurant itself it very attractive.
A waiter informed us that our normal waitress was handling a large group, so he would help out until she was available. I'm not sure why he didn't just take our table, which might have worked out better. He took our drink order, and the bottle of Malbec we ordered wasn't available, so we ordered the other available Argentinian Malbec which was slightly more expensive. They could have forgiven the difference and charged us the lower price, but didn't.
Our waitress didn't appear until it was time to take our order, which was about 45 minutes after we sat down. We asked two different people for bread and didn't receive it.
The food itself was a definite mixed bag. My NY strip was delicious, and cooked properly. The fish offerings were less appealing - my wife's grouper was overcooked and chewy, the mussels were just ok.
Overall, the meal just took an extended period of time where we were just sitting there. At the prices charged, the service and food had better be top notch, and it certainly wasn't. We skipped dessert and got ice cream at Cool Beans instead.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We LOVE Tarpon Bay Restaurant. The food is great. The service is wonderful. Whenever we stay at Hyatt Coconut Point we have dinner at Tarpon Bay. We sat at the bar overlooking the kitchen and listening to live music. The kitchen is impeccable.

Great Seafood. Florida laid back. Does it get better than this?

We had Scallops and the Black Grouper with the Lobster Bisque as an appetizer. I don’t know how someone could write a negative comment about Tarpon Bay. These are people who are never happy unless they are unhappy.

All I can say is: ENJOY!!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Teamdawson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Ate at Taroon Bay twice on a recent 8 day vacation. Grouper one day and Snapper the next. Very moist and flaky and just perfect. Veggies were perfectly al dente. Would highly recommend this restaurant. They feature a cute little jazz band on Fridays and Saturdays. The cocktails were phenomenal.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank mowish68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Seated promptly...on the porch, as requested when the reservation was made weeks before...but shoe-horned into the back corner of the porch by the busy ramp to the kitchen. Wait staff couldn't fit behind the chairs for proper service. But that's the smallest of issues. Waitress didn't arrive to take drink orders until we'd been seated for 35 minutes. Then, took another 15 minutes to bring the bottle of wine. After we'd been served drinks, no sign of her for another 20 minutes. When she returned to explain the specials, she stood so close to me she might as well have sat in my lap. Her hip rested against my shoulder. Zero sense of personal space. She waved her hand in front of me, pointing to various spots on my open menu as she explained the options we could have had memorized by this point in the evening. Despite closing my menu in an attempt to get her to stop, her hand and arm kept about in my face. Took almost an hour for our dinners to be prepared. And I'm sure they sat on the counter for some time as my food -- when it finally arrived -- was barely warm (definitely not what I expect of a $40 entree). No matter how good the food might have been (and it appeared well prepared), the service was so atrocious, it wiped away any pleasure from the meal. Amazingly, the restaurant/waitress had the nerve to apply a 20% tip to our bill before it was delivered. You'd think they'd have the sense to leave that to our discretion after a meal that required 3-1/2 hours to complete. This is a beautiful resort, but there are too many great restaurant options in the area to even consider coming back to this place. Stay far, far away!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GetnOutaHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Tarpon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, we are terribly sorry that we missed the mark on service during your recent visit. Your satisfaction means very much to us and we understand you've indicated you will not return. We are disappointed and hope you would re-consider so that we can provide you with an experience befitting the reputation of the resort and the restaurant, as so many others have noted. Your comments have been forwarded to the restaurant's manager. We will review in detail with our teams and provide training and guidance to ensure every guest has the same outstanding experience here at Tarpon Bay. Should you reconsider, we would be very happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tarpon Bay also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tarpon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing