We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Pine Restaurant - CLOSED

Big Pine Restaurant
Price range: USD 5 - USD 20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 29943 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043 Mile Marker 30 Right on route 1 going south...it is next to the Big Pine Post Office.
Little Torch Key, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Big Pine Restaurant is conveniently located on the highway at the lower end of Big Pine Key about 30 miles northeast of Key West. IIt is a good place to stop for a quick meal. Plain and simple decor greets you.upon entering this cafe styed restaurant.. Good prices and quick service keep the customers coming. The luncheon and dinner menu provides ample choices for the various palate. Soup and sandwiches are always a good bet. The last time we were in for dinner we ordered liver and bacon and we both quite enjoyed our meal chioce. Specials are offered on a daily basis. It can be a busy place, especially during tourist season because of its convenience, so be prepared for a few minutes wait in order to get a table if you arrive during lunch or dinner time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    74
    30
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I will be back....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

After driving by this place about 200 times, I found myself in the area and looking for someplace to have dinner. It always looked like a place where you could get a good home cooked dinner, and thats exactly what it is. The wait staff was very friendly and the service was very good, and the food exceptional. I found myself there the very next morning for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gliderider2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Big Pine restaurant is a kind of a place where the whole family goes for a good hearty dinner. The basics are great - burgers, fries, cole slaw, fried steak. You name it and it will taste good and fill you right up. The fried liver is the best, if you are into that sort of thing.

Some of a more exotic offerings, especially those that portend to be of Latin flavor or more modern salads etc, are a bit haphazard - so stick to their core dishes and you'll do just right.

It's a simple place, frequented by locals - gets quite busy on weekend nights.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as some would have you believe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Breakfast here was quite mediocre...not even up to the standrd of an Ihop or Dennys...then again, in Big Pine the choice is limited.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CalvinVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
247 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very tasty breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stopped at Big Pine last year and again this morning on our way home from Key West and we enjoyed our breakfast each time very much! Hot fresh coffee and nice portions at a great price! So good, I almost dont want to write a review and keep it a secret! Too late, as it filled up quickly! Only one small suggestion- our server was busy not only serving, but bussing and taking names for tables! Too much for one person and we waiting quite awhile for more coffee and our check!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Pine Restaurant also viewed

Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing