We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Elegance”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have stayed several times at this hotel and have always been pleased with our visit. The staff have always gone out of their way to answer any questions and it represents excellent value. It is located right opposite Bal Harbour shops and is right on the beach. Yes, it is an older property, but has been well maintained and is in good condition. The lobby sets the tone for the property and we found the restaurants very good and a very pleasant pool area. Coming from a different background, I had to get used to paying for parking at the hotel, paying for loungers around the pool, in fact every little extra seems to be chargeable, but that is the style in the area and other hotels are no different. We enjoy the casual elegance of the place, no scruffy dressing or behaviour would fit this place. We would always stay there again for the beach location and general elegant atmosphere.

Room Tip: We prefer the bayside view rooms, more to watch there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Nigel E,
On behalf of the management and staff, we thank you for staying with us. It's our pleasure to make your stay be the best. Your comments are appreciated too as it helps us make a better hotel overall.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you again very soon.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 176 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed five nights at this oceanfront hotel in Bal Harbour and mostly enjoyed our stay.

Here are some things we liked: rooms are large and comfortable; bathrooms have vanity cabinets, just like at home; staff is extremely nice and courteous; there is a sense of being dressed properly in the hotel lobby and public areas, which we appreciated (there is a special 'bathers' elevator' to take people in wet bathing suits and flip flops directly to their rooms from the pool and ocean access level); the Wi-Fi is free and works very well. Parking, at $18 per day, is reasonable compared with other hotels in the area.

And a few things we did not like: the decoration in rooms is stuck in the 1970s, complete with cathode ray tube TV sets; there was some garbage (old air conditioning parts and the like) right at the landing in front of our room; public spaces, mostly empty, look like a mausoleum. And the worst part: the hotel actually charges guests to sit by the pool, by the day or half-day. It is not that I am poorer having paid $5.35 for my pool chair for 3 hours. But when I pay north of $300 a night for my room, I do not wish to be nickel-and-dimed for poolside chairs-- I honestly find it offensive.

Room Tip: Book and pay for oceanfront or look at he parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear EANYC,
We appreciate your comments as it can only help us make a better hotel for our guests. We strive to make our guests feel most comfortable when they visit us. The hotel has and is currently undergoing a renovation both inside and out. These phases should be completed early 2015. We think you'll be impressed once they and invite you back for a great visit. The hotel is also reviewing it's policy on added fees and hope to have a resolution by the same time the whole renovation is completed.
Please accept our apologies if we didn't meet your expectations in certain areas while you stayed with us. We do invite you back and hope you can enjoy the new Sea View Hotel.
Many regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The SeaView Hotel is a lovely stress free oasis. Elegant without pretense. Excellent service without attitude. The rooms are large and nicely updated with 2 spacious closets. Bathrooms are not large, but logically designed. The bar is welcoming and comfortable and a pleasant place to hang out before or after dinner. The dining room is intimate and the menue is classic - some of the selections seem right out of the Fifties, which is comforting and not meant as a knock. I can imagine Don Draper from Mad Men having stayed here and being very pleased.

Oh, it's been mentioned here before, but it is true that Jose who runs the counter at the Snack Bar makes the best Malted Milk Shakes - period. He's also a wonderful personality and makes lunch a treat.

Totally plan on returning to this hidden treasure.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clublane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Clublane,
It's true The Sea View Hotel is from a by-gone era of the 50's. We pride ourselves on the classic European flair with a modern twist. And we continue to modernize as we are currently installing a new air conditioning system and work on the façade. In addition, we are upgrading the landscaping too. Note though, that European charm will always remain. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and are hopeful to see you again real soon.
Thank you for the kind words.
All the best,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Sea View Inn because of the following: Tremendous staff that was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure a good stay for us, fantastic location on the beach, great restaurant on the premises.

The room was large with two walk-in closets, a large balcony overlooking the bay, and lots of storage space. The only negative was the tiny bathroom which had practically no room to store items.

The wait staff was the best I've experienced anywhere, and the concierge and other hotel staff were extremely helpful and always friendly.

The downside is that it is located in a very posh area (right across from fancy Ball Harbour shops) and we would have preferred to stay somewhere closer to more affordable stores and restaurants.

Would definitely recommend this property for its location on the beach, spacious room, and fantastic restaurant and hotel staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room with balcony and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceedob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear ceedob,
So happy you enjoyed yourself while staying at The Sea View Hotel. We are pleased you had a positive experience and look forward to your return. We continue to make The Sea View a better hotel by upgrading the air conditioning and soon after, the façade. We think you'll like the changes we are embarking on and invite you back again.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Rooms are big and clean. There is a huge 18$ a day cost for valet parking which is added To your bill whether or not you use it!!! did not see this anywhere when i made the reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shev72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Shev72,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your last stay with us. Everyday we are improving the hotel and continue to do so until the renovations are completed, which should be early 2015. We are pleased to announce that we currently have the most cost efficent parking in Bal Harbour on the beach, not to mention ample parking at that. Parking is a premium especially for hotels that are located directly on the beach.
We are hopeful you will gives us another visit and experience the changes for yourself.
Looking forward to your return.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.8 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.3 km away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
1.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Bal Harbour Quarzo
#4 of 5 in Bal Harbour
303 reviews
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: 9909 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range: $246 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing