We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably chic and fabulous 40 YEARS AGO”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
new york
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Probably chic and fabulous 40 YEARS AGO”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I appreciate chic retro glam, but this is just too dated, faded, and ultimately just sort of tired and sad. Needs a total renovation to bring back its past "glory" (which I suppose there was?). Would recommend staying at the Eden Roc or Fontainebleu in Miami Beach rather than the Sea View. I really wanted to like it, but I just didn't.

Room Tip: sea view helps . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear rover28,
We thank you for your feedback as it helps us make our hotel better. Your concerns have been shared with our management team and staff to better assist future guests, such as yourself. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation as the new air conditioning system is being installed followed by upgrade of the entrance and façade.
The hotel is situated in the tranquil Bal Harbour Village amongst the newly erected hotels but we pride ourselves on that old school charm with an upgraded feel.
We hope you will come visit again to experience these great changes.
Hope to see you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    193
    99
    35
    31
See reviews for
172
152
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I visit the sea view whenever visiting Miami.. Clean, location on beach, wonderful pool, and close to action without the chaos of Miami..... Breakfast included, friendly staff, parking is reasonable rate for upscale hotel........will return again and again.....

Room Tip: Always ask for best rate...... Senior discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaduetsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Jaduetsch,
We thank you for your return visits and kind words during your most recent stay with us.
We appreciate your visits and hope to see you again real soon. We are always trying to better our guests' experience and welcome your comments to do so. I will share your comments about your experience to our staff and management team as they always appreciate rave reviews!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Many thanks,
Anthony Hill,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Right on the beach, yet very quiet.
Great view, spacy rooms, needs refurbishment. Nothing special yet overpriced.
WIFI very slow in rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karasznelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear karasznelli,
We thank you for visiting The Sea View Hotel and sharing your comments with many travelers. We appreciate your feedback is it helps us grow. The hotel is undergoing a renovation as we are installing a new air conditioning system followed by and upgrade of the entrance and façade. The staff is always aware of our guests comments and if need be are reoriented to meet our guests expectations.
We hope we see you again on your return to Miami.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed there for one night only, but our suite was very nice, spacious and good view. Friendly staff, clean room, quiet area. But for those who are looking for fun, it's far from south beach, where the hip places are

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear samos80,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us at The Sea View Hotel.
Our location is unique as it sits in the village of Bal Harbour, away from the craziness of South Beach, about 20 minutes south of us here, which is always a cab, bus or a car drive away. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation and will be great once completed.
We welcome you back on your travels and hope to see you soon.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was a little disappointed by our stay in the Seav View hotel in Miami (Bal Harbour).

I will start with the positives - The location in relation to the beach is good. The hotel is located about 15 metres from the beach front, on a relatively quiet part of the beach . The lobby area in hte hotel is extremely nice and the room we had also was nice. Although we did not dine there (because of the price) , the dining room and outdoor eating area also seemed very pleasent.


The negatives :
I could not help but feel that after paying our hard earned cash to stay at this hotel, that all the hotel wanted to do was extract as much more money out of us as possible. The pool area is very nice with a reasonable sized pool and a large number of sun loungers, but it costs $10 per day to use these loungers even if you are a guest staying at the hotel ! I though this was ridiculous. This is obviously $20 for two of us, which was just too much.

If you want to park your car in the hotel car park, it costs $18 per day (again even if you are a guest staying at the hotel). The hotel location could be better - Because the hotel is on 99th street and the main shopping/eating area's are around South Beach, which is around 5th to 30th street, you will need a car or some form of transport if you are going to go anywhere.

A can of coke from the beachside bar costs almost $4 (You can buy 12 cans at a store down the road for $5!)

A bowl of ceral costs $4.50.

I found the hotel staff less than helpful at times. When we checked in, the lady at reception just gave us our card - no directions to the room, the floor we were staying on was been renovated - no apology for this. We tried to rent a car through the hotel and we were directed to the valet man. He just rang a number and handed me the phone and told me to sort it out myself. Nothing baout what sort of a car I wanted, how long I wanted it for, when I wanted it etc etc

The hotel has a lot of potential if you want a quiet break, but unless it is more reasonably priced, or the guests are allowed to use the hotel facilities without been ripped off, then I would not return here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe77Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Joe77Cork,
We thank you for your feedback as it helps us make our hotel better. Your concerns have been shared with our management team and staff to better assist future guests, such as yourself. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation as the new air conditioning system is being installed followed by upgrade of the entrance and façade.
The location is set in the Bal Harbour Village which is quiet and tranquil. This village is a travel destination for many across the globe for it's welcoming shopping experience at the Bal Harbour Shops, renowned for it's world class shopping in the high end retail market. South Beach is a bus ride or drive away, about 20 minutes south. The Sea View Hotel is proud to be situated on the world class beaches with an emerald ocean outside our back door. We hope you will come visit again to experience these great changes.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bal Harbour hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.8 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
1.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
8.7 km away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,885 reviews
0.9 km away
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Bal Harbour Quarzo
#4 of 5 in Bal Harbour
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Property: Sea View Hotel
Address: 9909 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price range (per night): $211 - $424
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing