We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places to go.”

Hagley Museum and Library
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hagley is the former industrial site of the original black powder works of the DuPont Company founded in Delaware in 1802 and powdered by the natural resources that surrounded it. Today it is 235 acres of wooded rolling hills along the rushing Brandywine River dotted with hundreds of stone ruins of the black powder industry, dozens of restored buildings associated with the business, and the first du Pont family home built in America. Here, for more than 200 years, the DuPont Company and family experimented, innovated, and pursued the American Dream. Hagley has been accredited by the American Alliance of Museums since 1972. The site is a National Historic Landmark, National Recreation Trail, and a Historic Engineering Landmark.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I highly recommend the 3rd floor of the visitor's center it is very hands-on cool things. I also liked the limited edition for Spring Break activities. They were really fun!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank xandermoscrip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley19807, Public Relations Manager at Hagley Museum and Library, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks so much for writing a review of Hagley! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the spring break activities. We hope you can come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"black powder"
in 75 reviews
"machine shop"
in 104 reviews
"gun powder"
in 67 reviews
"brandywine river"
in 89 reviews
"dupont family"
in 126 reviews
"belin house"
in 23 reviews
"eleutherian mills"
in 23 reviews
"car show"
in 12 reviews
"sunday school"
in 18 reviews
"organic cafe"
in 17 reviews
"gunpowder works"
in 21 reviews
"du pont family"
in 32 reviews
"dupont home"
in 28 reviews
"steam engine"
in 34 reviews
"the barn"
in 19 reviews
"conestoga wagon"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 27 reviews
Filter

66 - 70 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

The history of the DuPont family is fascinating! Very friendly staff every where we went. Lovely gift shop with reasonable prices, featuring local artisans. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley19807, Public Relations Manager at Hagley Museum and Library, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks so much for writing such a nice review of your experience at Hagley! We hope you're able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Fantastic tour of the history of the duPont family's work. Great diaramas that kids love, beautiful grounds to walk.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley19807, Public Relations Manager at Hagley Museum and Library, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks so much for writing a review of Hagley! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We got to the Hagley at 3:30 on a Saturday and only had time to visit the museum and the gift shop. We returned the next day to tour the mansion and the gun powder mill. There were other things to see and do, but they were better with kids. We had been touring the area for a few days and had already seen so much, we didn’t mind taking it easy. The museum will allow you to return for 7 days on your originally purchased ticket. It was the du Ponts first state and was not as impressive as some others, but we missed the famous gardens since it was still very cold when we toured. A bus will take you up and back from the Visitor’s Center, and a docent will take you on about an hour tour of the home. We enjoyed it quite a bit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank KayM506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley19807, Public Relations Manager at Hagley Museum and Library, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you so much for writing a review of your visit to Hagley! We hope you can come back for a visit when the weather is warmer, and you can see our garden in bloom. It's beautiful in the spring and summer months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Loved touring hagley at Christmas. A must see
If you are in Delaware during the holidays. The mansion on the Brandywine is beautiful

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank memcconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley19807, Public Relations Manager at Hagley Museum and Library, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks so much for writing a review of Hagley at Christmastime! We hope you're able to come visit the museum again soon. The property is beautiful in the springtime, and we have a great summer Bike & Hike & Brews series!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hagley Museum and Library also viewed

 

Been to Hagley Museum and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing