We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday night. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly! The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel quality is good, not very old but not very new. The rooms are quite large and the bed was comfortable and clean. In terms of cleanliness we have no regrets. The sheets are nice and white and spotless. The bathroom is very small and the shower head is quite weak at all settings. The amenities are very generic since its a two star hotel after all.

Everything was good until we went to sleep. Late at night, we heard our neighbor return to his room and we heard everything from the door opening to the shower turning on. This did not bother us because thats how hotels are but it was the next morning that got us upset. Since about 8am, all we heard was the door next to us continuously slam every two seconds. We do not understand why our neighbor would have to open his door so frequently. When we got up, we finally realize that the staff closet is next to us on the other side, around the corner of the elevator on the 4th floor. The housekeepers must've have been opening and closing the door to get stuff but...do they really next to SLAM the door every single time they close the door? Do they not realize there are guests sleeping next door? If you need to get stuff, could you just leave the door open instead of slamming the door open and close every couple of seconds? This woke us up but we were exhausted and eventually went back to sleep. Maybe they have cleaned all the rooms they needed to clean on the foor?

Overall the hotel is in good condition, it was just the housekeepers that need some training.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ziggyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I travel frequently for work and I typically swear by the Marriott brand; however, my advice is to never stay at the TownPlace Suites in Newark, DE...ever. If nothing goes wrong while you are staying at the hotel, consider yourself lucky. But if something does go wrong, do not expect that anything will be done to resolve the situation.

If you experience an issue with the refridgerator/freezer maintaining acceptable temperature, expect to be told that no one is available to fix it and to figure it out yourself. Also, if your food goes bad or melts and the hotel offers to give you a credit for the items, expect that to be held against you and thrown in your face in the future.

If you experience an issue with items going missing from your hotel room and you contact the general manager, Susan Muzzi, expect to be completely dismissed and called a liar. A brand new container of salon conditioner went missing from my room (value of $31) and I contacted Susan for assistance. I did not accuse the specific maid that had been cleaning my room of theft - I stated the facts that my personal property was no longer in the hotel room. I was ultimately told that it was my problem and that no compensation would be provided. Also I was told that the woman cleaning my room was an African-American and that she wouldn't use this sort of product on her hair.

Odd.

Also, if you're an arachnephobe - do not stay here. In the course of two weeks there were several little creepy crawlers that snuck in the room. No reason to complain over pest control unless you can show proof of a carcass.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank belleza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed for 5 nights. Clean, roomy, comfortable room. Stove top, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge. Standard hot breakfast with powdered eggs, mystery sausage. Same offering every day. Good location with plenty of restaurants nearby. Only gripe is the exercise room which is like a closet. One tread mill, one elliptical, one bike, narrow and claustrophobic. Got a great rate (sub $100) through the company I was visiting. I heard a walkin get a quote of $130/night. There is no way I would pay that much for it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwkrdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Our room was large and very clean. I really liked the fact that the room was "freshened" everyday. New towels, empty garbage, straightened bed. Breakfast was nice with scrambled eggs & bacon/sausage, along with the usual bagels & cereal fare.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfox7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
278 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.4 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
0.2 km away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Address: 410 Eagle Run Rd, Newark, DE 19702-1603 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Newark)
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: $159 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Towneplace Suites Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing