We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It was what I expected!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Esta Motels I

Sea Esta Motels I
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Esta Motels I
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was what I expected!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

2nd time staying here. 1st time was in 07 and its the same as i remember it then. Basic place to lay your head and take a shower. Its in a great local so thats a bonus. I was there on July 13-15 weekend, the running of the bulls weekend so it was very busy, everything sold out. Luck out and got the last room here. it was a 1st floor room, walked in expecting the worse but I was pleasantly surprised, Ac worked , they had clean towels , shower was a bit dirty but I wore my flip flops and that was that. When I was leaving I sat in my car a bit eating breakfast and watch the two lady come into the rooms and start cleaning, I def would not want that job, come in after a bunch of drunking people doing whatever in the rooms etc. They do there best a I guess and that all I can expect. The owner is nice and thats all i can expect when I stay at a place like this. Would I stay here again? Yes . The only thing I can say need to be improved wouild be the showers but other than that, I brought my on sheet and pilow but I do that at any hotel so .. enjoy..

Room Tip: Its a motel not a 5 star.. so all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWERC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels I, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We hope you di enjoy the running the the bull. We do try to be a great place to stay for a great value. I am sorry to hear about your tub though. We will definilty have that looked at and throughly cleaned and refinished.
Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in Dewey Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    15
    12
    19
See reviews for
9
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

i use to love the sea esta motels; 1 was our favorite but after this last visit...no more!!!
THe toliet was dirty and the place smells of mold. Our sheets had not been changed from the last guest because there was sand in the bed....ugh. The location is great but the rooms are dirty dirty dirty. We will be looking for another hotel in the future and it's ashame because it is in a great location and we get to bring our 4 legged child!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knot8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dewey Beach hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I found ourselves stranded in Dewey/Rehobeth for the evening and found a vacancy at the Sea Esta I. When we arrived at the front desk, they wanted to charge us $98, and yet we had found it on Expedia moments before for $69. The front desk told us to book it on Expedia. So we did. And moments later we were checked in at the lower rate. Always check the discount travel sites before you check in.

The girl at the front desk was very helpful and very personable. She was a great front desk operator.

The room was a room in a motel. It definitely smelled as though the room had been doused with industrial stregnth cleaner so as to maybe lessen the damage done by the many seniors (as in recent high school graduates) who had partied there the week before.

It is a great location. It is close to the beach and all of the restuarants in Dewey and a few minutes drive to Rehobeth and the ferry (which is where we were headed).

It is not a glamourous place. It is a motel at the beach and it is perfect for that. You shouldn't be spending a ton of time in the room anyway! The room is for sleeping and brushing your teeth.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sea Esta Motels I, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
I do truly thank you for your time and review. We do not try to be what we are not. We are an affordable motel with great location. We hope that all will come to love us for being just that.
Thanks again and we look forward toyour next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Other than the fact that this hotel was close to the beach, it was a terrible place to stay. It's perfect for seniors and college kids I guess, but not for middle class familes. We stayed on the first floor, room 8. The tables were sticky like stuff was spilled on them and not cleaned. The bathroom had all kinds of visible mold and mildew in the cubby/shelf area. The telephone on the night stand had food all dried and caked in it and was sticky. The bedding had stains on it. The hotel staff was rude expect for one young man upon check in. Parking is limited and there are no spaces. Some guests would hog two spots or park at a diagonal so unless you got home early from a night at the boardwalk....you were screwed on parking. The room had a musty smell to it. The curtains didn't close all the way and the AC barely worked well enough to cool off the room. Everything is very old and outdated. If you're looking for a really cheap hotel room near the beach, this is the place to go. Especially if you plan to only use your room to just shower and sleep. Although sleeping is difficult. Being on the border of Dewey Beach (party town) you here doors slamming and music and yelling and screaming at all hours of the night.
If you want a clean room and friendly staff, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: get a room on first floor if you can. stairs are wooden and rickety, unsafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I concur with much of the reviews, rude maids, old everything, toilet one can hardly sit properly at. BUT it's right near the beach, it's cheap and you can bring your dogs. Our booking was last minute and it met all of the above requirements, so we went for it. For what we paid (around $69 a night) I would say it was a good value. Would I stay there again if the price was jacked? No.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsieKim0534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.6 km away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
0.2 km away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.5 km away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Esta Motels I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Esta Motels I

Property: Sea Esta Motels I
Address: 2306 Highway 1, 24 Houston Street, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price range (per night): $136 - $381
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Esta Motels I 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Esta Motels I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Esta Motels i Hotel Dewey Beach
Sea Esta Motel i
Sea Esta Hotel i

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing