We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“See the Fort and stay here for R and R!”
other travellers have booked this property
Canal House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Canal House
Water view from deck of D.C Marina, C&D canal and Fort Delaware. Kitchen fully equipped ( knives, forks, dishes, etc.)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Canal House
Water view from deck of D.C Marina, C&D canal and Fort Delaware.
Kitchen fully equipped ( knives, forks, dishes, etc.)
Living room (40'HD cable TV, Blue Ray Player and WIFI. Also, sofa is a queen pullout.
Table seats four
Bedroom with queen, TV, bureau and closet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Delaware City, Delaware

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shadepalm...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“See the Fort and stay here for R and R!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We decided to visit Fort Delaware and take a few days to explore the area. The Canal House was beyond our expectations. Clean and comfortable with all the amenities of home, it was like staying at a friend's house. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't need it again until we left. Everything we needed was within walking distance. Norm the owner, could not have been more accommodating and helpful. He quickly addressed all my concerns before our arrival and was very helpful with suggestions for things to do. His kindness, along with the perfect location of the Canal House, made for a very memorable vacation that we hope to repeat someday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellidru
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“The most Charming Canal House and it's wonderful Host ... thank you for a memorable stay.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I truly hope I get another job in Delaware so I can again stay in this wonderful and charming home.
The location was perfect .. with your choice of great restaurants all within walking distance.
We really looked forward to walks in the morning and evenings along the canal.
Everyone is very friendly ... Tony ... the owner .. is helpful , charming and warm.
Thank you for a great stay.
Kelly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015gabe2...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Geat place to stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location was the most outstanding feature!! good fishing area and very friendly people (all over). The house was above expectation very clean cozy and featured with all you need to make your travel pleasant and feel like home when you are away from home. Tony was very helpful with plenty of information and suggestions. This house is highly recommend and we definitely will revisit.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keon T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic and Quiet”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Mom and me really enjoyed our three days stay in this cute apartment. Everything inside is new and designed efficiently. It is very quiet so we had wonderful rest. It is right in front of the canal and we can see tourist ferry come and go every day. The owner is very friendly and offers many good ideas for local visits. Internet is fast. Laundry is very convenient inside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness and scenic location
Liked least: Children's running on the second floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken B
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“This was a great choice for us”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great time staying here. Close to everything but out of the way. Newark was minutes away. Route 1 is minutes away to places south and north. Great little charming town. Could use a better grocery store. Lewinsky's on Clinton was a great restaurant. Check out the art gallery and please go see Fort Delaware. What a great historic site. We are cyclists and used this as our base of operations. There is a path along the main C & D canal but it is not connected to Rte 9 yet. Great bike ride though! Comfortable stay for sure. Only draw back was the barking and howling dogs up stairs but that was not continuous. Overall loved our stay and will stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in a nice old town on the water
Liked least: the barking dogs upstairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 115
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing