We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage
Front Door Some of the roses of Rose Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Rose Cottage
Front Door
Some of the roses of Rose Cottage
View from the front over the village green
Living Room with Bluetooth sound system TV and Blu-ray player
Living Room Log Burner
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Luxury Kitchen with Siemens Appliances Throughout and under floor heating
Kitchen
Spa and massage bath
Bathroom with under floor heating
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom, can be set for twin or Super King
Sunroom with DAB radio and under floor heating
Garden
Patio and secure gated driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hesket Newmarket, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mar_and_J...
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was our first time staying in Rose Cottage. What a wonderful cottage- it still retains the old charm of an 18th century property yet with some modern twists.The kitchen has all modern appliances and is airy and spacious, but it was lovely and cosy to sit in front of the roaring log fire in the sitting room on a cold January evening! We also loved the Jacuzzi which was a welcome treat after a long walk in the surrounding countryside. The village of Hesket Newmarket itself is peaceful and laid back, and the local pub, The Old Crown, is just a stone's throw away. If you love a small friendly pub with bags of character then this is the place. Overall we had a relaxing, chilled out stay in a 5-star cottage....wish we could have stayed on longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike19034
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MR”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at rose cottage for the second time and it didn't disappoint. With its great setting and cosey feel we left feeling relaxed and will definitely be staying there again in the near future. Whether you like walking or just sitting around the log burner rose cottage has it all. We visited a whiskey, gin and vodka distillery as well as a lovely walk around Keswick lake.

We highly recommend visiting this place if you get chance. You will not be disappointed.

Mike and Charlotte

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeska...
1 review
“Perfection! By far the best accommodation I have ever stayed in that also happens to be set in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rose cottage is an absolute gem! The beams show the cottages age straight away but if you look closely you can see how the walls curve and the special detail that's been used to fix modern radiators to these walls. The skylight in the kitchen is glorious, lighting up the cottages modern kitchen. Everything about rose cottage is easy, modern, sophisticated where it needs to be (the bath!!) but then the simplicity of the open fire, the antiques dotted around, the recliner couches :)
Oh we will definitely be back soon. I miss watching the cows walking past the front window for milking ... Yes you really are in a self sufficient little village (with a brewery may I add) perfection! X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
89Jules
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a truly tranquil setting”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I travelled up with my husband to Rose Cottage, both of us looking forward to a week of unwinding and relaxing.
The cottage and its location were perfect! We were very lucky with the weather too. Rose Cottage is so beautiful inside and out and the gardens are gorgeous. We spent a lot of time outdoors or sat in the conservatory.
Our dogs enjoyed the many walks we found from the front door, it was lovely not to have to drive anywhere!
Good local pubs too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyPratt5...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing, absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had the best weekend in this lovely cottage. With easy access to walks around Heskett Newmarket and a lovely pub just on the door step it is the ideal holiday place. The cottage is kept lovely and has a real homely feeling about it, you find it very easy to get comfortable there. It is one of the places you could quite easily stay forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing