We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place for family gatherings and the like”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian C
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for family gatherings and the like”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My partner's sons had booked this break for us as a surprise for their mum who was reaching a milestone birthday (I daren't divulge her age!!). She had a pleaant surprise waiting for her when we arrived - the family.

Everything that needs to be said about Bankfield House has been said before - it is spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and ideally located with fabulous views. And is pet-friendly too.

For the person who cannot do without any form of communication when they are away, there is a very good free wi-fi available.

There is a "sofa-bed" downstairs, where the whole floor is on one level, and which could accommodate a disabled visitor.

As an aside, the pub in the village does very good food.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time,Andrew,to post this review...very much appreciated and you are all welcome back
Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian G
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house, great week”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our first stay in Bankfield House, and it won't be our last. We all had a brilliant time. You might think that having 3 families, comprising 6 adults, 7 children (2 technically adults) and 2 dogs would be a bit of a squash, not in this house. Bedrooms are huge, plenty of bathrooms, kitchen is well equipped (with an Aga), 3 reception rooms, and a conservatory which allowed the 13 of us to eat together comfortably. All rooms were clean and tidy, with fresh bedding and towels. The house has all the amenities you’ll need for a great stay.

In addition to relaxing, we used the good sized gardens to play football and volleyball. The house is in a great location for local amenities, with Spar and Co-op shops in the town centre (5 minute drive), and a Chinese takeaway. I also recommend the Pheasant Inn, which is a local pub/restaurant only 5 minutes’ walk from the house.

The view from the house is amazing, especially from the bedrooms. It was lovely to sit in the garden, with a view of the sands.

This was my first visit to Allithwaite and Grange, and I was surprised how close it is to the Lakes. It only took us 20 minutes to drive to Windermere.

The owners, Helen and Eric are very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble for them.

I definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great size house and a good location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Hi Ian thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review,it was great having you all here and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future,
Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REG640
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family booked this break for our 50th wedding anniversary house was magnificent loads of room to get lost.There was 7 adults and 5 children and a dog the gardens are large the children loved them. It was nice just to sit and look at the view. I think we will be going back loved it
Reg

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are a family consisting of seven adults five children ! We stayed for the weekend to celebrate my mum& dads50 th anniversary ! We had a wonderful time , the house was wonderful everything we needed was there ! Children loved playing outside in the garden ! House was spotlessly clean ! I would defeat let go back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant house”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We've just returned from a weekend staying at Bankfield and can't fault the house or owners. There was 7 adults, 5 kids & 1 dog in our party and the house had more than enough room for us and a good size garden to play in. The kitchen is well equipped and conservatory great for all of us to have meals together. The owners are very nice and helpful. We're already discussing going back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing