We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for girls weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dartLiver...
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for girls weekend”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Party of 11 women, plenty of space, house well equiped. Enough bedrooms and bathrooms for us all and a huge conservatory where we could all eat together. Altogether, would thoroughly recommend. It even snowed, to make it more picturesque!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and space
Liked least: The settees were a little uncomfortable but not a massive problem at all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thanks to the Vixens for such a lovely review !!!!!
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
537Ant
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fabulous house to explore around the area or just relax!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful 3 night stay with extended family and friends from Canada. The house has all the amenities you could wish for including a very generous starter pack with a lovely bottle of wine!! The pub,which is is at the bottom of the hill but it is quite steep and quite a trek back up. We took Cartmel races in which was great fun and only a mile down the road.
The house is very clean and with beautiful bedrooms and more than enough bathrooms. The view is exquisite and the neighbors are lovely!!! We enjoyed it so much we are back there again this coming weekend!! 08/01/2016...............Review to follow!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Generous and well equipped”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here this past weekend with our family and 5 dogs. The house was very well equipped, the owners were very lovely and more than helpful. The couches were comfy, bathrooms clean and house was warm. We would highly recommend and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenv390
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house for large family get together.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked the house to celebrate grandmother's 80th birthday, the house was well located for guests travelling from Manchester and Scotland. The house is large, beautifully decorated and yet homely. There is a conservatory where 15 of us dined in comfort and ate our BBQs. Its in a good spot for exploring the coast, the Lakes and Cartmel. The booking and arrangements were all straightforward as the owner is very pleasant and most importantly we were able to bring our dogs. We'd go again.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Chris...
1 review
“Beautiful house with very versatile accommodation.”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This beautiful house easily accommodated our party of 9 adults, 5 children(aged 5 to 15) and 2 dogs! Eric and Helen were very welcoming and provide some lovely little extras. There was plenty of outside space and the views from the patio were stunning. The location made the southern lakes very accessible. All in all, a comfortable and relaxing holiday for our family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
It was a joy to have you all stay at Bankfield House...so glad you enjoyed your stay and there will always be a welcome for you here anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing