We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
8
9
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
9
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Tom is a great host and his place is a genuine landmark with early American ambience that is special.
Our room was economical, and funky in its details and furnishings, making it a fun place. The location is in the heart of the most historical town in Connecticut and part of a tour of historic markers, including a site of witch trials.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

As a solo, female traveler I felt safe and comfortable here, like staying with a long lost relative. The house and Wethersfield are both utterly charming. Tom's breakfast was a delight! The aroma of coffee and the nostalgic tunes playing in the background create a comfortable vibe making it easy to settle in and enjoy his posh breakfast! Other things to note, the house is quiet and clean, the bed and pillows comfortable, and there is excellent water pressure in the shower. Old Town Restaurant is across the street and Lucky Lou's Bar & Grill is a one or two minute walk. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Chester Bulkley House is located in Old Town Wethersfield. The room was pleasant with antique decoration and in good repair, though the bathroom was slightly small. The rooms are on the second floor and the access stairs are steep. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smoothjohnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We were engulfed in a severe downpour the night we drove through southwestern Connecticut, and the rain let up briefly as we entered Wethersfield, a town we had never known existed before Trip Advisor let us know there was a historic inn there. Tom Aufiero, the innkeeper, welcomed us on our arrival and showed us to the smallish but comfortable room we had reserved. We had chosen the most economical room, one that shares a bath down the hall with guests in other rooms, of whom there was none.

Mr. Aufiero donned a white chef's attire in the morning to prepare an excellent breakfast in the very elegantly and tastefully appointed dining room. Both the meal and the furnishings get high marks.

Should add, in passing, that Wethersfield turns out to be a charming fossil, a town that has successfully preserved the appearance and character of a small New England town at the turn of the 19th century. The Chester Bulkley House fits right in.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trentonmakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed at the Chester Bulkley House for our anniversary and had a wonderful weekend away. The breakfasts were great and plentiful, savory one morning and sweet the next, recipes made with new twists on old favorites. The Inn Keeper made great suggestions on what to see and do - it was our first visit to Old Wethersfield. We spent most of the weekend taking walks, and this place is located perfectly for walking the Village. Lovely town, lovely home, a great trip overall. Exactly what we hoped for and expected.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dotquaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews