We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherwood Island State Park
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Walk along the water

I love walking along the Long Island Sound. The parking is free Oct 1st thru April or May. There... read more

Reviewed 16 December 2018
Kim449
,
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Pleasant Surprise

We have lived near Sherwood Island but never visited until recently. We took our dog there in the... read more

Reviewed 12 November 2018
NeilAA123
Read all 152 reviews
  
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
55
68
17
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
68
17
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sherwood island off season long island sound nice beach nature center private beach summer days walk along the beach walking trails low tide many years picnic tables fairfield county compo beach memorial geese weekends
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Was not impressed. While it looks pretty from afar (and in pictures online) it was actually quite dirty. While I loved the paved paths and green grassy areas it was hard to enjoy them because of all the trash and goose poop.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank harobubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We had a gorgeous warm, breezy visit to this huge state park. The beach looked inviting and we need to come back this summer! Loved just walking around...plenty of parking, picnic tables, views, facilities and geese! The 911Memorial is great.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Mary Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We went to the State Park to see the 911 Memorial. it was codl but sunny. Great views of Long Island Sound. In the spring and summer this place would be ideal for families. They have built a 911 Memorial .Very moving. I have included pictures.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank douglasstclair2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Nice area for a walk. Enjoyed walking in the sand and collecting shells. Lots of parking available..

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Backr0adsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Perfect location for bringing young family to learn how to rollerblade, ride bikes, etc. The park is very open which allows kids to run around and enjoy their surroundings. The park includes a beach front, forested area, open parking lots, walk ways, and a park center.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank LFreeman610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews