We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful even with a cover of snow”
Review of Pond House Cafe

Pond House Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Pond House Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 203 Restaurants in West Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Prospect
Transit: on Asylum Ave.
Description: Nestled on the pond in historic Elizabeth Park the Pond House is surrounded by gardens & offers four seasons of charm with a menu to match. Changed seasonally we offer eclectic comfort food that reflects the down to earth but playful spirit of our staff. Watch young skaters on the pond while savoring a hearty winter stew. Announce Spring's arrival with a walk through the park followed by brunch on the patio. Stop and smell the world famous roses then linger over dinner as sun slowly sets over the trees. Lunch, Dinner, Brunch & Take out. The Pond House - stylish, fun & playful.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the Pond House for lunch on the day after a snowstorm. Elizabeth Park and the pond was just as picturesque under the snow. I met a friend for lunch and we lingered for two and a half hours and never felt rushed. The Pond House Salad was crisp and fresh the garbanzo bean burger lacked zip but was otherwise very good. Late November was a good choice, no crowds as during the height of the season.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlfieandOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2018

Elizabeth Park is beautiful on its own and the Pond House is a jewel in its midst. Biggest complaint was the length of time it took for us to be acknowledged and seated. After that it was up hill. Being given a tablet instead of the standard menu allowed us to view starters, lunch specials, entrees, salads, and sandwiches immediately. There were many choices, each with unique ingredients and touches. We were very pleased with the food. Room and porch were a little on the noisy side but quieted down after 1 o’clock. Reservations would be helpful even for lunch.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanetD723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

I would go back in a minute if I didn't live so far away! My review is not the length requested. At the moment I have a lot on my plate!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SusanD52545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Dinner was overall a Substandard. 5 in our group and every meal was a problem. 2 ordered salmon specifically “cooked through”. They got sushi. The meals were sent back and returned 25 minutes later just as the rest of us had finished our meals. The crab cakes were filler only and as far as any of us could tell, completely uncontminated with crab. Perhaps if they were just labeled as stuffing cakes we would have been less disappointed. At least the seasoning was good. Hard to find a reason to give this place another try.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mbdmd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Set in beautiful Elizabeth Park this restaurant is a go to spot for us. A huge bonus is that you can bring your own wine.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fenw323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pond House Cafe also viewed

West Hartford, CT
 
West Hartford, CT
 

Been to Pond House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing