We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arumeru River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
USD 188*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 330*
USD 321*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kigongoni Lodge(Arusha)
USD 179*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 153*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 138*
USD 131*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 65*
USD 59*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masai Camp(Arusha)
USD 25*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 208*
USD 192*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impala Hotel(Arusha)
USD 140*
USD 136*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
122
114
27
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
114
27
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdik dikguinea fowlkilimanjaro airporttraveled with another couplefirst nighttwo nightslong flightgrounds are beautifulfun to watchminute drive from the airportgreat bedrelaxing startindividual cabinsnorthern circuitnice gardengreat place to startgreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed here on the first and last night of our safari. On the first night it was almost midnight by the time we got to the lodge due to a delayed flight and the staff of the hotel were waiting for us for dinner - it was very sweet. Overall the food was excellent, grounds immaculate and service was excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank theexcalibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for our first night in Tanzania. Beds were comfortable, and the grounds and buildings are well maintained. Lots of wildlife wandering around the property. Everything was beautiful and relaxing. Restaurant is reasonably priced and the food is great!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jegleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We spent 3 nights before our safari and 1 night after at Arumeru Lodge. The lodge is a 30-45 minute drive from the airport (JRO) in one direction and the city of Arusha in the other direction. It was nice and quiet without the noise and dust of the city. The grounds are beautiful with lush flowers and little animals running wild. We traveled with another couple and the 4 of us had a duplex cottage with a little front porch with table and chairs as well as a back patio with table and chairs. The room was large and clean with a king sized, mosquito-netted bed, little desk, 2 wardrobes, 2 chairs and little table. The bathroom had a big walk-in shower. We arrived about 10 pm the first night and the staff kept open the dining room, which usually closes at 10, in case we were hungry. We were not, but we did spend some time unwinding in the bar after our long trip from Chicago. The next morning we arranged with the lodge for a private tour of the town of Arusha. Our driver/guide picked us up and drove us through one local market and then to a Masai market, which was colorful and interesting but really a tourist trap where vendors were selling all the same kinds of souvenirs. Next we went to another local market in which we were uncomfortable because vendors kept following us and trying to get us to buy things. They were very persistent, to the point of making us very nervous. I got the impression that they don't see many tourists here; that it was definitely a local market. We ate outside at a great restaurant, George's Tavern. It turned out this tour was the only downside to the entire trip - when we checked out the final day the lodge had charged us $80 for the tour. We had paid the driver/guide directly, at his insistence. When the lodge called the driver he denied being paid (I wish I had his name, but I don't have my notes handy.) The lodge believed us and did not charge us for the tour. The second day we relaxed at the pool for the day. It was a Sunday and there were 2 weddings on the property, which were fun to see from our lounge chairs at the pool. With the exception of lunch in Arusha we had all our meals at the lodge restaurant and the food was delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A big plus was that the lodge kept our larger suitcases in a locked closet so we could travel with just small backpacks on the safari.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

While Arumeru had a more modest room than many of the places we stayed in Tanzania, it was comfortable and relaxing. The pool is lovely and well-maintained, the grounds beautiful, and the resident dik diks, monkey, guinea fowl and other birds are fun to watch. They kindly let our check out late before our afternoon flight. The food was good-try the banana tempura and the bar well-stocked. The staff were friendly and efficient. In the gift shop, we found some lovely crafts that we had not seen other places. They are constructing a viewing tower to help see Kilimanjaro on clear days.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizagib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Arumeru River Lodge had been recommended by our travel agency and it was a perfect choice! Beautiful garden, great view on Kilimanjaro in the afternoon, comfortable rooms and attentive staff especially at the front office. We joined one of their tours, the coffee walk, which was very interesting and a good chance to stretch legs before sitting in the safari car for hours and hours.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TanzaniaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews