We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
from USD 57.79
More Info
from USD 123.15
More Info
from USD 81.87
More Info
from USD 257.99
More Info
Reviews (8,237)
Filter reviews
7,394 results
Traveller rating
5,180
1,540
435
154
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,180
1,540
435
154
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the green dragon inn ginger beer our tour guide wings attention to detail new zealand the pub take photos gift shop shire's rest hobbiton movie set lotr fans middle earth hour tour bus driver behind the scenes rolling hills
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 7,394 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Kim was our tour guide and she was wonderful, very accommodating my wife and I had a 2 year old with us and she was very tried so that meant she was whingeing most of the tour, but Kim balanced out the group and included us in the same time. This rated very well with me plus the place is amazing specially if you are a lord of the rings fan.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were not all huge lord of the rings fans but it was one of the highlights of our trip. Very well organised and informative regarding the movies and how they were made. We drove down for the day from Auckland. If you are planning to do other sightseeing further south suggest you try to do the tour later in the afternoon after 3.30 or mid morning around 10. We were rushing to get there! Great photo opportunities and no rush as long as the tour group keep moving with the guide. We all had a lovely walk through the set and finished with a drink at the green dragon tavern.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Rebekah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Hobbiton is a lovely place to visit even though you are not a fan of Lord of the Ring. To be frank, the place looks more spectacular in pictures and therefore make sure you have a good camera with you! However, only the people at the front line were able to hear the explanation of the tour guide and the tour is slightly on the rush side. It will be better if tourist could be given slightly more time to take pictures taking into count the expensive tour fee. The tour included a drink (either Apple Cider or Ginger Ale) and again it would be great if everyone was given more time to enjoy the drink and view instead of just a short period of 15 minutes. Overall good experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank travelwithting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

What can I say highly recommended, Staff with smiles all round especially our tour guide Megan , gr8 how we’re organised with so many other groups at the same time & still have time for photographs , What a location & facts about what went on during filming. A slight hiccup with the cafe service long wait time on meals but hasn’t changed my rating. Tumeke

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank chrisnjulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

When we were considering our excursions for our trip to New Zealand, we weren't quite sure seeing a movie set ought to be on our list. After all, there is so much to see and do in New Zealand. We are so glad we decided to take the time to see Hobbition. It turned out to be one of the highlights of our stay. Hobbiton is amazing with all the attention to detail, the place comes alive and one expects a Hobbit to appear at any moment. Those who love to garden will appreciate the incredible landscaping that is being maintained by a team of 5 gardeners. It is enchanting, whimsical and a piece of art. Don't hesitate, GO! And enjoy the wonder of this little place.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank kithag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews