We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”
Review of The Tolland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tolland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tolland Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tolland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this B&B several times over the years and have also brought friends there when traveling together and have recommended it to others. We live north of Boston. It is an ideal place to rest on the way to NYC if one is going there for an opera or a show, allowing you to arrive in NYC rested without having to spend a night in the city and pay city rates. The owners, Steve and Susan are friendly, interesting people. Steve is a master furniture builder, commissioned by the Boston Symphony to build a new organ enclosure, and has build all of the fine and comfortable canopied beds in the inn. Breakfast is served at a large common table that invites friendly conversation over delightful baked goods, fruit, cereal, and coffee. I am an early riser and have often sat by the fireplace with coffee and computer, relishing the quiet, traditional surroundings. Susan's family was in the inn business on either the Vineyard or Nantucket...can't remember which. But she and Steve have it down, as it were, and we always look forward to seeing them and sharing their hospitality.

Room Tip: Tell them you have friends in Nahant.
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NortheastJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for The Tolland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

An inviting and relaxing room with loads of charm, a hot tub to dye for and a sumptuous breakfast served by a gracious host and a hostess who was warm, fun and helpful. I am so looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMansfieldCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This is a wonderful inn - the proprietors are an incredible couple. Steve has handcrafted much of the gorgeous furniture found throughout the inn. Susan was a wonderful hostess, offering my colleague and I a nightcap and thoughtful conversation after a long day of work. It made us feel as if we were on vacation instead of a business trip.
The inn is very beautiful. It's tastefully decorated and very well cared for. The rooms are large and super comfortable. I stayed in the Nantucket Suite where the bed, linens, and little extras like robes in the room were all excellent. Not only that - there was the unexpected surprise of a hot tub for my personal use!
It was in a perfect location for our trip - we were visiting the UConn campus which is very close.
I will absolutely go back in the future and will recommend this inn to friends, family and colleagues alike. I'm only sorry I couldn't stay longer to experience the lovely sun room, backyard and more of their hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We happened upon the Tolland Inn while visiting our daughter at college. We couldn't have been luckier. Steve and Susan were warm, friendly and helpful hosts. Our room was just lovely--so many special touches. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man-from-Nantucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A fantastic place to stay. Steve was very welcoming, informative and helpful in suggesting places to visit. We had a free upgrade which was most appreciated. The room was delightful, with great attention to detail. The bed, made by Steve was gorgeous and comfortable! Breakfast was delicious! We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! Thanks to Steve and Sue for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellabrilliante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolland
13.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
10.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Vernon - Hartford
17.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Manchester
14.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
15.3 km away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
#4 of 10 in Manchester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tolland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tolland Inn

Address: 63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084-3029
Region: United States > Connecticut > Tolland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tolland
Price Range: $94 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Connecticut Inn on the Tolland Town Green. Hot tubs, fireplaces, relaxation in an 1800s bed and breakfast seven miles from the University of Connecticut campus. Perfect for travelers, rendezvous, romantic getaways, wedding nights,Connecticut honeymoons, business travel, and of course UConn lodging. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing