We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop near Mystic”
Review of Inn at Stonington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Stonington
Ranked #1 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stop near Mystic”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The Inn at Stonington is a great place to stop. We stayed in the most massive room in the renovated building next to the Inn itself. It was huge with a great spa. Stonington is much smaller and better preserved than Mystic, and I would recommend this if you want a more low key experience than staying in Mystic. The port is just a short drive away so you can have the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: Top floor in annex building - room was absolutely huge and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    50
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
260
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My husband and i just back from a perfect night at the inn. It was cozy festive and a great time to visit the stonington mystic area. The inn is absolutely beautiful!!! The staff is so friendly and helpful they make you feel very comfortable and welcome. I have been there in the summer and of course its great but do your self a favor and visit for the holiday season. This inn is truly 5 star in every way!!

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the summer. Our room was gorgeous, spotless, and very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting in the living room, taking in the views, and catching up with family members--it is a lovely common area. Breakfast was simple, but delicious and service was friendly throughout our stay. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limeijulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights (our 3rd year in a row) and, as always, had a wonderful time. We stayed in Room 3, a seaside facing king with fireplace, and absolutely loved it. It was unseasonably mild weather so we sat outside on our balcony and watched the sunset. So beautiful! The Inn is spotless, the innkeepers are very nice, and the town is quaint and friendly. We always enjoy the nightly wine and cheese. Breakfast is not elaborate, but fine for us. Eat at Milagro if you love Mexican food. That place is awesome. Enjoy an evening cocktail at Skipper's Dock, right behind the Inn. Visit the new winery in town, Saltwater Vineyards, for a fun wine tasting experience. If you're looking for a place where you can go to de-stress, stay at the Inn at Stonington.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Visited the Inn during the second weekend in November. A little chilly but the town is great for a brisk early morning walk. A lovely breakfast was waiting for me when I returned--good coffee, great breads and muffins and fruit--just what I needed. Met up with my husband who preferred the gym downstairs. My friends and I spent a lot of time in the upstairs room that was available to all guests but we seemed to be the only ones up there--great views of the harbor and the sunset and a perfect place for cocktails before heading out. Wine and cheese was served each evening at 6--added bonus. Good restaurants nearby in walking distance and a short ride into Mystic. The rooms all have fireplaces which was a nice added touch--beds were super comfortable. Plan on visiting when it is warmer to enjoy some outdoor dining and sitting on the porch.

Room Tip: Although every room has it's own charm, a room facing the harbor offers better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
4.9 km away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
691 reviews
5.7 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
677 reviews
5.9 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
37.5 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
707 reviews
6.3 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stonington

Property: Inn at Stonington
Address: 60 Water St, Stonington, CT 06378-1423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price range (per night): $341 - $506
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Stonington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonington is a Stonington Connecticut Bed & Breakfast located directly on the waterfront in the heart of Stonington Borough. Since opening, the Inn has been featured as 'Travel and Leisures' Inn of the Month and has also appeared in 'Coastal Living,''New York Times,''Boston Globe,''New York Magazine,''Boston Magazine,' and 'Delta Sky.' Untouched by commercialism, this charming village is one of the few surviving New England seaside towns that has retained much of its 17th and 18th century flavor. Classic examples of Colonial, Greek Revival and Federal architecture can be enjoyed on a stroll down any of its quiet, tree-lined streets. During your stay with us, be sure to take in "The Borough's" variety of restaurants, antique and gift shops, and galleries - all within walking distance from our beautiful Stonington Connecticut Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Inn at Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stonington Hotel Stonington
Stonington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing