We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Adequate for a Short Stay”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Hartford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and Adequate for a Short Stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Lobby: a bit dingy and outdated, but this is irrelevant. Staff at front desk: efficient but a bit cold, unfriendly and curt. Hallways: stinky musty smell like a cheap apartment building, Occasional whiffs of cigarette smell even on smoke-free floors' halls. Only one tired, old elevator. Room: clean, for the most part. Slight stinky smell that was mostly aired out by opening a window. Bathroom: spacious and clean, with a tub. Don't use the nasty tasting, self-pasted toothbrush. Bed fairly comfortable for this type of hotel, but not enough pillows. Parking is free and adequate, but (some parts) too small for easy maneuverability. Breakfast: not really breakfast. Coffee (which I did not try) and juice (meh), and some store-bought pastries. You get just enough energy and carbs to get you started on your day.

Best qualities: Excellent free wireless internet connectivity, spacious room with writing table, clean bathroom, in-room fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, good darkening drapes

Negative: Very close to I-95 highway (about 2 blocks away) makes for very loud noise. Highway noise worse at night, when soft, restful hum of traffic frequently interrupted by loud noise of trucks and piercing whines of motorcycles. The train sounds, however, are not so bad. Buy ear plugs because, unless you are a sound sleeper who can sleep through the sound of a lawn mower, you're going to need them.

Overall, not a bad hotel if you need to be in the Stamford area for only a few days. Not recommended for a longer, recreational stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    32
    18
    7
See reviews for
28
30
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

What a great find! The room decor, the bed (oh, so comfy!) and the bathroom, which I am very fussy about, was spotless. My first visit was this past weekend, May 14, and I could not have been happier with my choice due wholly on TripAdvisor reviews. The Stamford area is more than I ever expected. Lots of restaurants, pubs, shopping, and movie theatre all in the town and walking distance from the hotel. It was a wonderful getaway and I will definitely return. Staff are all friendly and accommodating. Thank you, Amsterdam, for a great weekend stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenslongtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We visited Amsterdam Hotel this weekend and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were beautiful, clean and their service was always with a smile. When we searched for hotels, the representative on the phone was very patient, helpful and pleasant. He absolutely made our decision for choosing this hotel over others. and we're glad we did! the kids had a great time, and they let us use the coffee room for our parties. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieeinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peron, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This is a very good hotel for the price charged. We were there for 8 days just after the February snowstorms and the service was very good. Big rooms, very clean with fluffy clean towels each day. Good heating in rooms though breakfast room was cold. Rooms have fridge and microwave, free internet good breakfast.
Location is convenient especially for Enterprise car rental, shops and good Italian restaurant and so so Chinese take out.
My third time to stay there and I will be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Hotel was very nice, very accommodating with very sizable rooms, comfortable beds, large work desk and a sitting area. Nice size TV with a very large assortment of channels, local, cable and HD stations, along with an attached DVD player. Breakfast was the typical Continental breakfast with an on-hand hostess that kept all items replenished. Ample free parking available, both outside and in the garage. Guest-use computer in the lobby along with wireless in the rooms. Since I was there just for one night, I didn't get to go to any area restaurants, but the front desk did advise me of several in the nearby area. Will definitely make it one of my choices next time I have to do some work in the Stamford or surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
673 reviews
2.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
327 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
0.2 km away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 19 Clarks Hill Ave, Stamford, CT 06902-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price range (per night): $139 - $166
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome... Our tastefully decorated European style hotel is located in downtown Stamford, CT. It is just off the I-95 and close to Stamford train station. We are just a short train journey to New York City providing an ideal cost effective base for either business or pleasure trips. Our guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and come with cable TV, mini-fridges, microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel also offers free wifi throughout, complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service, which is available for guests making journeys in and around Stamford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing