We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Southbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Southbury
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Kinston
Level Contributor
144 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is a good clean hotel with an adaquate restaurant. Rooms are spacious and staff welcoming. The only problem is the air conditioners are mounted on the roof below the rooms and if you have a room near the elevators the noise is quite loud. Situated near interstate, but no interstate noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators to minimize air conditioner noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    80
    64
    24
    15
See reviews for
88
45
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding so really didn't have much choice in the matter. Although it is not a hotel I would choose to stay in on my own, it was fine. The hotel was dated and the room smelled musty, but generally speaking, everything appeared clean. The temperature control in our room was broken (the knob was literally broken off), but since we were only staying one night, we didn't bother having anyone look into it. The lobby area was nice (although it mysteriously smelled of smoke - maybe coming from the smoking rooms?).

Beware that there are no post-11pm food options whatsoever. Room service shuts down by then, and there is nowhere that delivers to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kruzingtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
286 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We live one town over and had to stay due to Hurricane Irene. Had the hotel been better, I would have stayed one more night,

The public areas are nice but the rooms are dated and the furniture and door frames are chipped and dinged. We stayed in a suite which was large and quiet. It had a teeny, tiny fridge that would not hold our 2 take out containers. The ice machine near our room was broken. I tried to open the microwave door and the entire control panel came off in my hand! The cleaning staff never noticed this? Give me a break.

I took a shower around 7 AM and the water turned completely cold in the middle of it.

The front desk guy seemed nice until we couldn't get our door open. When we went to the desk for the third time, he came back to the door with us. You have to run the card really
S L O W L Y. He actually said that to me the second time. We continued to have trouble with the door during our entire stay.

On the plus side, they are dog friendly for a reasonable $25 fee for the entire stay. The bed was comfy and the location is good--right off of Route 84.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klscaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Dear Klscaz,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southbury hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I work for Timex and my corporate office is very close to this hotel. The hotel provided a complimentary pick and drop to my office. The hotel is a very good one with jumbo rooms and every facility. The staff is very accomodating, very clean and really comfortable beds. However, Middlebury and Southbury is not a very happening place in connecticut. There is not much that you can do close to this hotel. You have to take a cab and go down to Waterbury if you really want to do something or watch a movie at a theatre. Good for business travellers who want calm and peace

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The front desk clerk was very friendly when I checked in. The room was big and clean. The bed was comfortable, there was a little road noise because it's right off the highway but the clock radio had built in sounds so I just turned those on each night and slept fine. My only 2 'complaints' about the property is that there is nothing close by to eat so you have to drive a ways or eat in the hotel restaurant and to have a fridge in my room would have been an additional $15 per night. I have food allergies so I always travel with snacks and frequently buy meals at the local grocery store so I know everyting that is in it and I wasn't able to do that at this property because there was no fridge or microwave in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saleschick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
9.2 km away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
27.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
11.8 km away
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
22.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
29.5 km away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Southbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Southbury

Property: Wyndham Southbury
Address: 1284 Strongtown Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-1971 (Formerly Southbury Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price range (per night): $124 - $194
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Southbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wyndham Southbury," Welcoming Gracious Personalization" Our hotel is located in the Litchfield Hills of beautiful central Connecticut, some of our corporate neighbors are IBM, Chemtura, Boehringer-Ingelheim, General Electric, Timex, Waterbury Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Nearby attractions for all ages include Quassapaug Amusement Park, Lake Compouce, Timex Museum, NE Railroad Museum, Golden Age Trucking Museum, Palace Theatre, Danbury Mall, Oxford Greens Golf Course, Woodbury Ski and many quaint antique shops. We are a full service hotel serving a full hot and cold breakfast buffet and a la cart menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner in our Arrowhead Restaurant and Lounge. The Crowne Plaza - Southbury boasts 13,000 square feet of flexible and beautifully appointed meeting space that includes 2 tastefully decorated grand ballrooms that accommodate 50 to 400 people, 2 traditional boardrooms and up to 13 total breakout rooms. We are truly the 'Place to Meet' for corporate meetings, weddings, anniversary parties, birthday parties or Bat/Bar Mitzvahs. We have ample complimentary parking, complimentary wired & wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and offer complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby daily. Our guest will get a workout in our fitness area or enjoy a dip in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Southbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Southbury Hotel Southbury
Southbury Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing