We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint restaurant in the lovely village of Sandy Hook.”

Foundry Kitchen & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Sandy Hook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Pub & Tavern Serving Newtown area. Outdoor Dining overlooking Pootatuk River. Events Space, Warner Loft can accommodate up to 85 guests.
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Cozy establishment with a nice menu. Great outdoor seating by the river. Due to the size, the entertainment is too loud.

Thank WHS-Fab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate the kind words! We hope to see you again soon, next time you are in you can request the dining room, it is much quieter in there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

The food is always good and the waitstaff is always kind and attentive. Best cocktails around! If you order the fish tacos make sure to get LOTS of napkins as the fish is very juicy and the tortilla doesn't stand a chance, but they're delish! The only dish I did not like was the risotto that came with the very yummy scallops. It was not creamy and a little under cooked.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzee1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We appreciate your repeat business. We hope to see you again soon, and we will send some extra napkins your way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Love eating here. Much more intriguing menu that a lot of the pretty mundane restaurants around. The building is very pretty and the service we have had here has been great both times we have gone (once with and without kids). Great place for a romantic night out or a family meal (although a little more expensive for a family).

Thank trimess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your kind words! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Considering all the reviews, Foundry is a good restaurant so I will focus on what not to order. #1 the Crab cake sandwich; the crab cake was heavy on filler and light on crab; should be on the menu as a filler sandwich. #2 the burger was ordered medium and came well done and the beef was clearly of mediocre quality; should have been on the menu as over cooked cardboard on a bun. If we were not with another couple both dishes might have been sent back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SJayinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your meal. Our burgers are oh a very high quality an 80/20 blend of hormone and antibiotic free meat, and one of our most popular items on the menu. We hope you will visit us again and give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Thank you to the local couple that recommended the Foundry Kitchen and Tavern. Food was fresh and hot and the customer service was very good.

Thank clarson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N, Owner at Foundry Kitchen & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your review with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foundry Kitchen & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Foundry Kitchen & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing