We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
89
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working farm inishowen peninsula peat fire sheep farm friendly dogs family dog scones five minute walk sitting room apple trees malin head living space get away from it all rolling hills b and b common room an ideal location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We spent seven days at the Trean House with hosts Joyce and Mervyn. This was truly a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The accommodations were fantastic and Joyce’s breakfast were unbelievable. Just a short walk to the ocean, this rural Irish farm was a very peaceful and wonderful place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ManhattenHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trean H, Owner at Trean House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Comfortable & spotless place to stay, very quiet location. Open peat fire burning when I arrived, & was treated to coffee & scones by the landlady even though I was B&B only. Generous breakfast - early on a Sunday at my request was no problem.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trean H, Owner at Trean House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Chris
Thanks for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to the treat house. I feel so welcome here. The breakfast is great. Tea when we arrived with a peat fire in the living room was nice. Then a walk to the beach with their friendly dogs Flynn & Spike. This is my favorite place in Ireland.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trean H, Owner at Trean House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thanks Melissa, was great to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

It's hard not to oversell our visit. Trean House is located a relatively short drive away from Derry, through the picturesque Irish countryside.

As we pulled into the gravel drive, Finn, the resident Irish Setter, came out to greet us. The home is set among a lovely garden with fruit trees. Joyce came to greet us at the door, leading us into the lounge and a peat fire. She soon brought us tea with scones and biscuits, which was the perfect way to being our stay.

Joyce told us a little bit about the area and suggested that once we were settled, we let the dogs bring us down to the beach. We did just that after leaving our belongings in the comfortable and clean room.

Finn and his companion Spike took us on the short walk along the beautiful country lane down to Tremone Bay, where we were met with a stunning view of the bay and beach. As many reviewers have noted, the dogs really do act as tour guides.

We did some exploring of the beach and surrounding fields before heading back to the house to get ready for a dinner time drive up to Malin Head.

After sleeping like Irish country stones in Trean's comfortable beds, we awoke the next morning and met Joyce in the breakfast room. She asked us what we would like to eat; both of us chose the traditional Irish breakfast and we were not disappointed. The presentation alone would have been enough to impress. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked.

We will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MrCreegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trean H, Owner at Trean House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Reflecting on our recent trip to the Inishowen Peninsula, our stay at Trean House was our favorite part of the trip. The setting, where the pastures overlook Tremone Bay, is picture-postcard perfect.
Joyce and Mervyn welcomed all seven of us from the Wild West Atlantic Causeway tour and made their home feel like our own for seven days. My husband and I loved Mervyn's farm tour, feeding the sheep, and walking down to Tremone Bay accompanied by Finn, one of the two dogs on the property.
Joyce's attention to detail inside the inn, wonderful home-cooked breakfasts, and beautifullly tended gardens are unparalleled.
The view of the North Atlantic from the pastures is something we will long remember. But, even more importantly, our evening conversations down in the common room with our fellow travelers and hosts make this one of our favorite trips ever. Thank you, Joyce and Mervyn!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Barbara and Bri... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trean H, Owner at Trean House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks Barbara for your kind comments. We enjoyed meeting you all very much. Hope you got the photos, if not I can resend them....Let me know

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews