We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Famous Grannies Heilan hame Caravan site
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Famous Grannies Heilan hame Caravan site
plenty of beaches and entertainment on site Shops bar restaurant Fantastic place for kids to have a great holiday games swimming pool and tennis court
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Famous Grannies Heilan hame Caravan site
plenty of beaches and entertainment on site Shops bar restaurant
Fantastic place for kids to have a great holiday games swimming pool and tennis court
golfers dream place to be Royal Dornoch Golf club 5minutes drive or 20 minutes walk
Very close to Historicl places castles and
for kids and adults entertainment and Internet and wifi facilities at reception
kids golf and play area tennis court
golf courses all around area and great villages to drive or stop by
also great fishing and walking routes
easy place for kids to play
Relaxing lounge
kitchen and dinning area
Play area great for children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Embo, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anita r
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Good location for touring around the area. John o Groats etc. within an easy drive. Nice sandy beach on the doorstep of caravan park. Very clean, no litter or dog mess, well looked after site. Nice clean and good condition of the owners caravan, only downside was we couldn't get the gas fire to work but the other heaters worked well so its not missed to much, only used at night to take the chill off anyway. Kitchen well equipped except for no scissors. Beware of the chip shop on sight as expensive, make sure you add the chips to the price of anything else as not included. Nice clean pool but you have to book your time slot as it seems small for the size of the site, also you have to pay for entertainment passes which we were not told about before hand so be aware of this. Entertainment in the show bar was good for all, food in the same bar was also value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The caravan was well equipped with kitchen supplies and a few essential food items. The bedrooms where great and had a few items that made it feel like home. To add to that the caravan had a cupboard full of games and books there was also a large pile of leaflets and take out menus.
The location of the caravan is excellent as it is a base for touring the whole of the north of Scotland. The caravan is also very close to the beach and is perfect for walking the dogs in the morning. The caravan was very clean and perfect value for money

Perfect stay for all the family would definitely go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountains...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Only visited the bar/restaurant for coffees, not impressed !.”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We called in for coffee and cake. The coffee was average the cakes chosen from a very limited selection were poor and over priced. Having said that it is a beautiful location and the caravan park may be fine. If you are in the area make a point of driving from Embo towards the A9 north. At low tide you may be fortunate to see dozens of seals basking on the sand banks at quite close proximity.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Sorry you never enjoyed bars and restaurants will let them know
Regards
Tom
Ps hope caravan was okay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffC996
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peacefull, beautiful location, worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We don't normally travel so far afield but thought we would make this trip to see another part of the country I live in.
After reading other reviews I was a little concerned due to the negative comments but I shouldn't have worried.
There was a lot of negativity regarding food and service but I found the opposite. OK its nothing fancy but it is on par with most establishements that cater for families. In fact first time ordering food we were told it was busy and it may take a while but it came pretty quickly. Then on another occasion after ordering, they ran out of my choice and therefore I had to reorder, which was once the other meals were almost ready. Due to my wait I was refunded for the cost of my meal which was appriciated. There is also a great onsite chippy.
On the park itself, beautiful location, beautiful beaches with plenty of seating around the park. Plenty of walking options also. A bit isolated but worth it. Staff were really friendly.
We extended our stay by a night and would definitely return. Also pet friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: The travelling.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Break with my Grand-children”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely short break in this caravan at Grannies Hielan Hame in Embo. Its a beautiful part of North Scotland and the park has good amenities for children. The caravan is situated in a quiet location and had everything we needed. it is excellent value for money. We hope to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to take own linens, but this was acceptable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing