We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Margate Place Guest House
Ranked #12 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Debbie was very helpful with directions and how to get around. She recommended and booked a day trip for us. Debbie is kind and helpful and does a very good job. Margate Place Guest House is in a good location, secure, private, clean, safe lock-up parking, quiet, equipped with everything you will need for an enjoyable stay.

We stayed in PE for about 1 month and had to check-out and return as they had previous bookings. Dec.21-28 (7 nights) we stayed in Unit 6 (upstairs) which had been renovated, fresh paint etc. so it was fresh and clean. The bathroom was new and in good working order and great water pressure. The bed was comfortable. Private patio and BBQ. Both units had everything you could need in a self-catering kitchenette, they thought of everything. Great.
The TV's are too small & old.
Jan.5-17 (12 nights) we stayed in Unit 8 which has it's own private entrance and courtyard. The family room was a good size. The bathroom had poor water pressure. The bathroom sink taps needed repair or replacing (which they said they would fix). If they keep up on repairs and renovations it will continue to be great.

The pool area was nice, however the pool refreshment hut was not opened.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays_duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is a good location hotel and everything BUT our vacation was very much disturbed by the landlady going on and on about how the blacks and the coloured people were useless
(right in front of her own black "servants"). We felt very uncomfortable about this and told her so, but when we disagreed she was agitated.
Also there was mud and rocks in her pool from the neighbour´s drilling project and she
1, did not ask about how her guests were doing without the pool but only compalined to us over and over again about how expensive this was going to be for her.
2, when we comforted her that the damage would probably be covered by the neighbour or his insurance, she once again showed her racial side and concluded " well he is jewish, I can´t expect a penny from him!!!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank travellerfromsweden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I'm normally not making comments on these sorts of pages but, we stayed several times in this guesthouse and the last stay was the best. Really enjoyed our time again. Well done to you all. Relaxing and everything is so little trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defYogi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We've stayed there 3 years in a row over Iron Man and wouldn't stay anywhere else! They go so far beyond all expectations that "value for money" would be an insult. Comfort, service, friendliness, good food & so much more...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We have been staying at Margate Place every year in December for 4 days at a time for the past 3 years - this year will be our fourth year.....with hopefully many more stays at Margate Place - Debbie is an asset to any establishment, warm ,friendly and super efficient.... Margate Place is always spotlessly clean, comfortable with all the little hidden extras like umbrellas etc catered for . Highly recommended - well done Debbie, Cornell and all your staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screenqueenKnynsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.9 km away
Ocean Bay Guest House
Ocean Bay Guest House
#10 of 43 in Summerstrand
45 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.9 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
491 reviews
1.3 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
131 reviews
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margate Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margate Place Guest House

Address: 5 Margate Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Success proven by very high occupancy over 20 years! Stylish, private guest units. Secure parking. B&B or self catering. Rooms offer: En-suite bathrooms, kitchenettes, bar fridges, Free Wifi, DSTV, private entrances and BBQ areas! Very close to all beachfront amenities, 2 MINUTE walk to the Beach! Airport 10 min. Follow us on Instagram margateplace_guesthouse and check out our FACEBOOK page to view more photos... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing