We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
108
21
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
21
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delicious buffet breakfast within walking distance home away from home lapa area place to stay top class highly recommend this guesthouse comfortable beds braai area cape recife warm hospitality min walk friendly city boardwalk casino enjoyed our stay every morning a great stay
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is a good location hotel and everything BUT our vacation was very much disturbed by the landlady going on and on about how the blacks and the coloured people were useless
(right in front of her own black "servants"). We felt very uncomfortable about this and told her so, but when we disagreed she was agitated.
Also there was mud and rocks in her pool from the neighbour´s drilling project and she
1, did not ask about how her guests were doing without the pool but only compalined to us over and over again about how expensive this was going to be for her.
2, when we comforted her that the damage would probably be covered by the neighbour or his insurance, she once again showed her racial side and concluded " well he is jewish, I can´t expect a penny from him!!!

Date of stay: February 2010
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank travellerfromsweden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate_Place, Owner at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to hear about your experience.
Please note that Margate Place had a change of ownership on 1 April 2016 and has become a place where everyone is welcome and treated with dignity and respect.
We can only apologize for what happened before. We will really appreciate if you could read through our reviews from people from all walks of life to see what they think about us and I am sure the reviews will speak for us.
Maybe you too will return to us one day and can experience this for yourself
Kind regards
The Margate Place Family












Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Deutsch Evern
2
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I'm normally not making comments on these sorts of pages but, we stayed several times in this guesthouse and the last stay was the best. Really enjoyed our time again. Well done to you all. Relaxing and everything is so little trouble.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We've stayed there 3 years in a row over Iron Man and wouldn't stay anywhere else! They go so far beyond all expectations that "value for money" would be an insult. Comfort, service, friendliness, good food & so much more...

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We have been staying at Margate Place every year in December for 4 days at a time for the past 3 years - this year will be our fourth year.....with hopefully many more stays at Margate Place - Debbie is an asset to any establishment, warm ,friendly and super efficient.... Margate Place is always spotlessly clean, comfortable with all the little hidden extras like umbrellas etc catered for . Highly recommended - well done Debbie, Cornell and all your staff.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screenqueenKnynsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We travel each year from Seattle USA to Port Elizabeth to visit family.
We LOVE staying at Margate Place. We always stay in room 1.
Margate place is in walking distance from the beach and from the shops. It is sooooo clean , elegant and absolutely STUNNING. They have amazing rates and it is truly international standards when it comes to service, bedding, interior design, pool facilities and more.
They do not try to "rip off" tourists and I would recommend them for a save , affordable and joyful stay!!!!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umzobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews