We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
Free cancellation until 22/07
USD 184
USD 179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
Free cancellation until 22/07
USD 93
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
USD 189
USD 174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
USD 83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 122
USD 102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 98
USD 82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfisher GuestHouse(Summerstrand)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 89
USD 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor 38(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
USD 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
29
68
34
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
68
34
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselection of tv channelsgreat hotelfree shuttlereception staff were excellentgreat businesssea facingnice place to stayhotel managementspecial touchwalking distancetea and coffeeboardwalk complexfriendly citycape townnext morninggood sizebusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Good size rooms and offer a nice breakfast.
Rooms in need of a bit of an update, and some rooms only accessible by stairs. A bit of a pain with a big suitcase!

Good views of the ocean.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank beckabock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

i was in PE for an overnight visit, the city lodge offered everything you need. There is a free shuttle to the boardwalk centre, and its on the beach front where there is a promenade . The room was functional with everything one would need.
The only issue i had was the telephone didn't work to reception. Breakfast was vast and catered for every possibility , and was good tasting too.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yihaa500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

I spent a night in this hote prior to my flight to Cape Town the next morning, the location is beautiful facing the ocean and wothin waking distance to a mall and a casino worh also a few reastaurants available, I had dinner inside the mall but the next morning breakfast I can judge fairly good with wide choice of stuffs, rooms are fine but small as well as the bathroom but absokutely good for a single night stay, wht I don’t like is the fact that there’s no minibar.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant room for a night and a good breakfast choice.
Need a car or taxi to get into town but a few small shops and eating places about 10 minutes walk away. The sea and beach are opposite.
In our case, the only dislike was of a close up view of adjacent roof but as we were very tired and stayed only one night after a long overnight flight and then a delayed internal flight, this was no real problem.
Yes we would be very happy to stay again but would ask for a better view from the room.

Room Tip: pick room 252 if you want just to look at the adjacent roof with no other view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank westeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The hotel is ideally situated some 150 yards from the airport departures terminal. Rooms are small, minimalist but clean and adequate for an overnight stay before an early start. No restaurant available but a basic breakfast is provided. Easy to check-in and out. Front desk staff could have been more communicative and seemed unsure of herself. Recommended for that early flight.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

We appreciate the feedback and we have conveyed your concerns to the relevant managers for corrective action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews