We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot”
Review of Farmhouse

Farmhouse
Ranked #12 of 63 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Went here the last 2 weeks for lunch as was not disappointed. Service was great and the food is delicious. They also offered some drink specials and lunch as well as full brunch menu. Looking forward to trying it for dinner.

Thank fcoda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michy60, Owner at Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much, we are glad you enjoyed. We are looking forward to you trying dinner as well. Again, thank you very much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

Farmhouse is a lovely restaurant housed in another of the ubiquitous strip malls that dominate the roadside landscape. But Farmhouse has taken its strip mall location and turned it into a lovely oasis of calm.

After being struck by the lovely interior there is the service. and the food. Both outstanding.

The service is warm and welcoming - one of the owner-partners - Michelle - greets you when you come in and makes you feel right at home. The serving staff are gracious and know their food inside-out - it is a joy to eat there.

It is the food that keeps you coming back. Sustainable, local, organic, grass fed - all the right ingredients made into delicious and imaginative dishes that are some of the best anywhere.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wprensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michy60, Owner at Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you so much! We very much look forward to seeing you again very soon! As always, I will have your table ready.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We have been to the Farmhouse once for lunch and twice for dinner. It is very popular, and often quite crowded. Our lunch was very nice, although I don't remeber what we got. The service was very good, and we were happy, so we tried it for dinner. There was a very long wait, and it seemed the staff was not equipped to handle the crowd. We had to stand at a bar height table, and the noise level was almost too much. The menu is, of course, farm-to-table, so everything is fresh. Again, I can't remember what we got, but we had no complaints about the food. Although, almost everything on the menu is meat of some kind. There are very few options for vegetarians, who make up some of our friends and family. That rules out the Farmhouse when they are in town. The third time, we were with a large group, and it was a weekend, so the wait for a table was very, very long. The servce was friendly, but the wait for the food was interminable. The food and the service are fine, but I wish they could handle the crowds better, and have a few more meatless options.

Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michy60, Owner at Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. I am very sorry if you experienced a long wait. On Friday and Saturdays we do sell out. If you walked in without a reservation, I'm sorry you had to wait but I do my best to get everyone seated in a timely manner without rushing them once they are sat. We take reservations at anytime, you can call us at 203-491-2840 and there will be no wait at all. I do disagree that everything on our menu contains only meat, we have several other options as well as our daily special. Printed on the menu,it states that Chef will customize all vegetarian meals. We do this so each time you come in you will have a different entree to choose from. Please do let your waiter or waitress know that you are a vegetarian and we will be happy to present you with a fresh, creative meal each and every visit.

Again, thank you very much for your review and we do hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

A fine local eatery in our region of so many great restaurant choices... but we've been back twice is as many weeks.
The food is great…. The menu has a multiplicity of entrees that should satisfy most everyone’s tastes and pocketbooks... from burgers & pizzas to steaks & rack of lamb; from inventive salads to fresh fish. All are prepared with a finesse that shows a kitchen with pride in its offerings.
The dining spaces are varied. We've eaten in both the dining room and the bar area (great selection of craft beers too), but not on the patio (yet)... the dining room is comfortable for talking and pleasing to the eye... the bar is relaxed but a bit little loud as the greenhouse raises the sound level (during happy hour FH offers a nice pub menu)... the patio, not yet but it looks equally comfortable and quiet... will update if & when we do.
Service is very friendly, knowledgeable, and expedient (something I really appreciate).

We will return soon…

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScoSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michy60, Owner at Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visits and we hope to see you soon. You just call us and we will have that table on the patio waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This is our go-to restaurant in the area. Always pleasant service, always excellent food, and with the outside patio area, always a great place to eat outside weather permitting. Every meal has been excellent , never even a poor one, and eaten most of what is on the menu. Strongly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bygollyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michy60, Owner at Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you so very much for the great review! We appreciate your business and very much look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing