We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dinner and a lovely evening”

Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sal e Pepe in Newtown, CT serves authentic northern Italian cuisine and specializes in veal, steak, seafood and pasta specialties. The restaurant, conveniently located in Fairfield County, CT, nurtures a Mediterranean sensibility, with warm colors and candlelight reflective of the warmth and hospitality of the dining room. From our extensive wine list and fresh pastas and sauces to our unique specials and modern twist on familiar classics, at Sal e Pepe in Newtown, Connecticut, you will feel like you are dining in Italy. Come join us for some delicious food and friendly service, all in a very comfortable setting.
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Everything was terrific. The halibut special was delicious, and the special carrot cake was wonderful as well. Also, our server was really nice and attentive. Always a great experience at Sal e Pepe!

Thank CTRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_16, Owner at Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi Ct Realtor,
We're proud to hear that you always have a great experience with us and that our halibut and carrot cake was delicious. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

When this first opened it was quite good but has been going down hill since. They over-sauce almost everything they serve. They have a loyalty program where they bribe you to give them great reviews. It’s to bad when a restaurant has to stoop that low

Thank Avidhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_16, Owner at Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hello Avid Hiker,
We're disappointed to hear your feedback. We always want our guests to have a wonderful time with us and understand that not every dish will please every guest, however we are also more than happy to replace a dish if our guest isn't happy. Our rewards program is to reward our guests that dine with us, as we are grateful for our guests and enjoy being able to offer this program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

How can it be that I have never reviewed before what we consider the restaurant to which all other restaurants are compared?! We have been dining at Sal e Pepe for 13 years and have never once been disappointed. The service is always on point, the wine (even the house wine) wonderful, and the meals imaginative and consistently delicious. I usually order from the Daily Special menu since I love to try something new, but the Mussels with Gorgonzola Sauce is a definite! Angelo is a wonderful host - we look forward to him visiting our table and catching up on life. We prefer to eat at the bar, but the outside patio is also lovely.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Felner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_16, Owner at Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi Felner,
Thank you for all of your great comments. We're thrilled that you have dined with us for 13 years and have loved each of your meals. It's terrific to hear that our specials are your favorite and that our staff is always friendly and attentive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

My wife and I hosted 3 guests and as usual Sal e Pepe came through both great meals and excellent service. We had 3 pasta dishes, the excellent monkfish special, and a wonderful pear salad. Plus we had two desserts that made you want to go back for more. We always have a wonderful time at Sal e Pepe and this time was no exception.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_16, Owner at Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi Lman28,
We're thrilled to have taken great care of you and your guests. It's terrific to hear that our staff is top-notch and our dishes were perfect. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We took two special friends to dinner and had a fantastic dinner (as always). We made reservations a week earlier for Saturday night. Our waitress was very attentive and personable …. the food was prepared and served in a timely manner. I loved the pear salad and tilapia with risotto Veal parmesan, chicken parmesan and seafood ravioli were also ordered and not one complaint.

Thank you once again Sal e Pepe for a great night out!.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_16, Owner at Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi Dee,
Thank you for joining us and all of your kind words. We're thrilled to hear how delicious all of your dishes were and that our staff took great care of you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sal e Pepe Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing