We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ernie's Pizzeria

Ernie's Pizzeria
Ranked #63 of 544 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: USD 10 - USD 15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Some people have been going here so long, they have watched the family grow up. Pizza, only pizza. It is always good.

Helpful?
Thank gregspeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A pizzeria that cares.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I love the people at Ernie's. They have the demeanor of really kind therapists. So glad to see you. They love what they do, they care about it, and they do it well. Example: their margarita pizza, with fresh tomatoes, is only available in summer and fall when local tomatoes are in season. With the plastic tomatoes available the rest of the year, what's the point? The pizza is the best west of downtown, and they are the only pizzeria in New Haven to offer whole wheat pies (superb!) and gluten-free pizza (haven't tried it). Highly recommended. Become a regular.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cwhig1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallingford ct
1 review
“The best pizza anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Ernie's has the best pizza period. A lot of hard work goes into everything they make at Ernies and everything is always perfect.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME PIZZA WITHOUT THE TOURIST CROWDS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Ernie's is AWESOME!!!! You don't have the nutty crowds & lines of tourists that you run into on Wooster St. & get fresh, excellent, quality New Haven pizza. When my wife & I 1st started dating & she told me about New Haven pizza 20 yrs ago (I was living in NYC at the time), I thought she was nuts. Then we went to visit her family & I was hooked. We have eaten at them all several times, but we are hooked on Ernie’s. Pat (who owns Ernie’s) & his staff/family are fantastic; as accommodating & friendly as can be. My family has lived in NJ for the past 17 yrs & will take a special road trip up to Ernie’s a few times a yr for a pizza fix. When we do, we make sure to clear out our freezer to bring home some extra pies, (they reheat GREAT). We also get several orders from neighbors that we have gotten hooked, often bringing home 10+ pies (remember they only take cash if you plan to order extras). My wife & I have to travel to Boston a few times a yr for business & will call a day or 2 ahead to order pies for on our way home. Since Ernie’s is just off the Merritt, it is a simple & easy to get off the highway, grab the pies, get back on the road & have a very happy family when we get home. Once the restaurant was closed for a death in family, & I picked up pies at Pepe’s. upon getting home I wrapped up 3 pies to put in the freezer & put 2 more in the oven to warm up. When ready, I called the family to the table & after a few bites my 2 kids (11 & 14) looked at me with disappointed faces & said, “something is wrong with the pizza…it doesn’t taste right. They had no idea that I stopped somewhere else to get the pies. When I explained that Ernie’s was closed & that I had to stop somewhere else in New Haven that makes very good pizza to get the pies, they ate it, but kept grumbling that it just wasn’t as good as Ernie’s, & next time don’t stop if Ernie’s isn’t open. Guess it is safe to say that Ernie’s has a 2nd generation of loyal fans in my family’s ranks! THANKS PAT!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jim42Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I'll stick with NY pizza thank you very much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Went for here for pizza while visiting my college student daughter. Good thing I wanted pizza as that is the only meal on the menu. Pizza was fair, but much prefer NY style pizza. Service was very, very good and accommodating. Atmosphere was family comfortable. Serving size was good and pricing was good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SirVayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ernie's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing