We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place, low cost” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mystic
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place, low cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel. I would agree wholeheartedly with the review. It isn't fancy, but it is clean and the staff very friendly. The price was right as well. Indoor pool a nice feature and it is *right* off the highway and accessible to so much. Our room was spacious w/2 queen beds and a whirlpool jacuzzi tub (that unfortunately we did not have time to use). My only negative is no elevator to the second floor, so if that is something you need, make sure to request a ground floor. I would agree with the other positive reviews.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the second floor, so if you need that, request a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ver14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    474
    271
    82
    61
See reviews for
578
383
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed over New Years and loved it. The price was great with an easy location. Definitely not a luxury hotel, but it worked for us. The rooms are clean and spacious. The front desk was helpful and pleasant. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucylu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at this HoJo while visiting Mystic for a convention. The price was 50% less than all the other places nearby!! I was pleasantly surprised to find a microwave in the room, which I do not see very often, and the room was super clean. The indoor pool was also spotless and much bigger than the online picture makes it look. My daughter and I enjoyed our swim. The front desk was very helpful and helped us with dining options and dirrections. The hotel was also the perfect location- easy access to expressway, close to dining and shops.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit with us, It is great to know that we made your stay a pleasant one. It is nice when even traveling for business that you can take the time to relax a bit and enjoy the time off. We hope to see you again whether for business or pleasure
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

This hotel is right off I-95 and ideally situated for visiting the Mystic area, close to many attractions and restaurants. We stayed two nights in a 2 queen bed mini-suite which was rather spacious and very clean and fresh when we arrived. We enjoyed the indoor pool which was clean and warm with plenty of available lounge chairs and clean towels. Free WiFi in our room was a defiinite plus as were the mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker.
We had a couple of problems during our stay but they were addressed very quickly by the general manager personally as soon as she became aware of them.Her obvious concern for her guests' comfort and satisfaction was gratifying in this era of diminishing customer service
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, We work very hard to offer our guests a clean, comfortable room so that your stay with us is a great one.. I am very glad that we were able to take care of the problems you had during your stay and we are really looking forward to your next stay with us
We will work on making your next stay your best stay
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here 3 or 4 years ago,

Found out that the Darien Hospitality Group- the owners of this Hojo's- have renovated most or all of the rooms.

They offered a $59 "special" with tax the bill was $67.19

located across the street from Olde Mistick Village, and 5 minutes from the Aquarium,Seaport and downtown Mystic.

Its one of a handful of Mystic hotels with an indoor heated pool.

Checked in around 2 pm on 12/18. Asked for a room near the pool and facing away from I 95. Room 109 had brand-new carpet,furniture,writing desk,chair,king bed with lots of pillows,along with a 32" Samsung hi-def TV that received all HBO Channels.Linens,pillows,sheets and bedding were super clean and crisp. No bedbugs whatsoever-a huge plus.

Equipped with a brand new heat pump. we had ample heat and were very comfortable Sunday nite -Monday morning- woke up to 16 degree temperatures.

The bathroom was brand-new-excellent lighting,new toilet& vanity. The hot water pressure and delivery were excellent. Our room was equipped with a safe,along with a microwave oven and small dorm-sized refrigerator.

Parking lot was well lit with ample parking.

Service was excellent- both staffers were friendly,cheerful and very knowledgeable about the area- especially restaurant suggestions.

Equinox Restaurant shares the property and right next door was the Mystic Friendly's. Show your room card and 10% is deducted from the bill.

Now for the few carps:

1- Could have used some more and newer,larger,softer towels.
2- Pool temperature could have been warmer.
3- Lacks laundry facilities and an exercise room.
4- Lacks elevators (is a 2 story hotel)
5- Hotel PC was very slow ( I didnt bring my tablet on this trip)

They offer packages called "Fish and Ships" along with romantic getaways and other "theme" packages.

All in all, I highly recommend the Mystic Howard Johnsons. The changes have made a very good hotel even better.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing away from Interstate 95 and not too far from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elbarto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
I thank you for your very positive review, we work very hard to show all of our guests a clean and comfortable room and we are very happy we exceeded your expectations.
looking forward to your next visit
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.7 km away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 14 in Mystic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 14 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Address: 253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mystic
#6 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price range (per night): $88 - $209
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing