We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Connecticut wooden house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Kent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Traditional Connecticut wooden house”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The building is a recently renovated, partly new, traditional wooden Connecticut house, with about ten large, airy bedrooms. The owner, Peter Starbuck (no relation, as far as we could tell, to the coffee shop chain), runs the show in an affable, extrovert but quite determined manner. The rooms were clean, although the carpet should have been vacuumed each day. Breakfasts were quirky, with Peter keeping the actual menu secret until it appeared on the table, and included items such as apple sausage, blueberry pancakes, butternut squash quiche, and good coffee, but sadly they were rather nouvelle-cuisine and there was no choice. This shortcoming was made up for by the provision of an ample afternoon tea at four o’clock in front of the log fire, when we were given Italian pastries, cheese, paté, and other nibbles, as well as tea, apple juice and sherry.

The inn is a few minutes’ walk from the centre of Kent, a neat, tidy and rather twee little town, with a range of restaurants – mostly pretty overpriced. The Appalachian Trail can be accessed within a mile or so: very beautiful but 2,200 miles long.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
101
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Starbucks Inn
An elegant Inn in a very good position in Kent, which is a charming small, New England town.
The Inn is spacious and comfortable and has a really beautiful outlook at the back where the breakfast room is located.
There are several good restaurants within walking distance. Note though that in October they do not all open every day.
Peter, the host, is an interesting guy and looked after us very well. Breakfasts were excellent.
Tea is provided in the afternoon but it would be nice to be able to make a hot drink at other times. Just providing a vacuum flask of hot water and tea bags/coffee would be all it takes.
.........on the other hand Peter does provide sherry for his guests in the lounge so things weren’t so bad!
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here.
Bryan and Ann D
UK

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Kent. It's a lovely area and the town is full of character. The Inn is just what you would expect; a charming clapboard house in a large garden. Peter Starbuck is a delightful host and we found the accommodation spacious, comfortable and clean. There are very good restaurants in town. 'Smoked' is new and serves great food. 'The Fife and Drum' is full of New England charm; busy with pretty good food.

We would have preferred some choice at breakfast, with some simple uncooked alternatives.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room in the very nice extension is large and airy - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west country
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Afternoon tea is tea from a pot, small sandwiches followed by homemade cakes and scones, not green tea from a thermos and shop bought cookies.
The living room felt like a museum and although it was a cold rainy day the fire was not lit, so we did not linger in there.
Our room at the back of the house was a good size but the radiator (cold) was full of dust.
The bathroom was tiny with just a shower and toilet and was grubby with a stained shower curtain. The hand basin was in the bedroom so no privacy and had no shelf space for washbags etc.
We could hear conversation and TV noise from the next room.
Breakfast was ok but no choice.
Peter didn't seem to be a natural host and his appearance from the kitchen in the morning in grubby trousers and unshaven was poor.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcountrybasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Starbuck Inn from 18 July to 3 August 2011. This was our first visit to New England and the Starbuck Inn was everything and more that we thought it would be. The location is excellent and there are so many places to visit, things to do and activities in the locale. Breakfasts are a real speciality of the house. The rooms are clean, well decorated, spacious and extremely comfortable. There is an ‘en suite’ in all rooms and high quality linen is used throughout. A high tea is waiting for you at the end of the day which is an absolute delight. The Starbuck Inn ensures that the ‘little things’ which are important to your stay are taken care off.

Peter is an outstanding Inn Keeper and a mine of information on the local area and beyond and offers hospitality to a high standard. Involve him in a conversation and he won’t disappoint and he and Heather (Head of Housekeeping and Peter’s co-star in the Starbuck Inn web site video) have the ability to make you feel completely at home.

We can recommend the Starbuck Inn without a moment’s hesitation. We will return as soon as possible – hopefully next summer. I guess that’s the best recommendation there is.
And if you read this Peter – thanks again. We had a great and memorable holiday.

Tina and Rob, UK

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina_Rob366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
17.3 km away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
17.7 km away
Grace Mayflower Inn & Spa
Grace Mayflower Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
21.2 km away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
26.4 km away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.3 km away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 88 N Main St, Kent, CT 06757-1539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kent
Hotel Class:3 star — Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Starbuck Inn b&b
Starbuck Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing