We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU SIMPLY MUST EAT HERE!,,,,,,”
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Billinghay
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us have been for lunch today, senior special £7.95 two course. It's so good. Steak and ale pie, appledore chicken, treacle sponge, New York cheesecake, apple pie. Custard cream or ice cream. Just absolutely delicious. Only a small selection from the menu. Freshly prepared vegetable assortment. Also eaten a la carte other times with the best steak ever! Inga and Lee are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble, gluten free available even fish and chips with a bit of notice. We won't go anywhere else now, we've been spoiled. Taking all our friends to find out for themselves. You must go and try, I promise you won't be disappointed. The question about tv, there is one in the bar but not restaurant. Who would want one?

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cazHorncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have had the pleasure of eating in this establishment many times and if you are looking for a good meal served in delightfull surroundings, where the staff treat you like decent people then look no further. The delicious food is well prepared and does not cost an arm and a leg. If you are looking for a decent meal where you don't leave feeling like you've been ripped off the the "Ship" is the place to eat.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnPhillips543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

We have visited this pub for lunch on several occasions now and every time the food has been outstanding. I have given a rating of 5/5 but in reality the experience merits a 6. My wife chose Steak and Kidney Pie yesterday and spent the whole meal enthusing over the taste and quality of it. Most of it passed me by as I savoured every tasty morsel of my Mushroom Stroganoff. We chose from the pensioners menu which offers exceptional value at £7.50 for two courses. The staff are always welcoming and friendly, and the service is excellent. I recommend this pub to anyone and everyone, indeed if we lived closer than 80 miles away we would probably never cook another Sunday Lunch but come here instead. We would certainly come every week. A fabulous unassuming village pub, great staff, great food and great value for money. Thank you to every one at the Ship.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

four of us decided to go out for a meal from Tattershall Bridge Friday night arrived around 7pm and the place was busy - no worries though the charming barmaid found us a table and menus arrived promptly. We were told there would be a wait for food but we were chatting and drinking, we all had something different and it was all exceptional my hunters chicken melt in the mouth and the gammon steak was perfect. The home cut chips topped it all off, only problem no room for pub.... next time for sure

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We've had a few good meals here..
Every one so nice and helpful...
Would recommend to anyone .
Love going here and they now know us
Witch is so nice..

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank alicewalters5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

Tattershall, Lincolnshire
North Kyme, Lincolnshire
 
Kirkby on Bain, Woodhall Spa
 
Billinghay, Lincolnshire
Coningsby, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing