We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Hartford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Hartford
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Two words that describe my experience at Super 8 Hartford: Bed bugs. I still have my arms and hands red after 1 week. I'll never stay at any Super 8, what a bad customer experience.

To elaborate a bit more: the receptionist is inside of a bulletproof glass...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    49
    41
    84
See reviews for
48
40
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I was leery of staying here after the reviews but it was just fine for an overnighter. I was seeing a show at Webster Theater. A tricky ride to get there but not far mile-wise (use a GPS!). Hotel was a lot cheaper than the downtown hotels so it was better for me. Beds were ok. Bathroom wasn't 100% clean but not too bad. It had a tall shower and good water pressure. Beds were ok, pretty average room, can't complain. I didn't feel un-safe or anything. Not a lot of restaurants nearby (24hr McDonalds right by hotel) but if you can find it I recommend the Arch Street Tavern Grille and Bar. Great beer selection and great food nice atmosphere. Otherwise you're eating at McDonalds. Pretty tricky getting around the city so I recommend bringing your GPS.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank redblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

wish we had read the reviews before booking this place. we'd had a nice stay at another Super 8 the week before, and figured that the chain must be nice based on that experience. I'm not sure about bed bugs, but our room was very dirty, had dead moths on the floors. we had to change rooms because brown dirt came out of the clogged sink. the second room wasn't much better, still no stopper on sink, dirty bathroom, people wandering around in the parking lot. we did hear one car alarm go off for a few minutes and were just hoping ours was still there when we got up. Broken glass in parking lot. Seems like the hotel is vacant except we did see some cats in one of the hotel windows (sign at front desk says no pets?) Breakfast offerings are not as published on website. Definitely find another hotel or stay at another Super 8...the sturbridge one is nice and only about 1/2 hour away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hartford hotels

Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed here for a concert. Good size room, staff was helpful, continental breakfast no better or worse than any other hotel at this price. Refrigerator in room. Very close to Comcast Theatre, felt safe walking back to the hotel because everyone else was walking back too. Probably saved us hours of waiting to get out of the Comcast Theatre parking lot. Lots of police around the area directing traffic. No mints on the pillows, but really...!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notyou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

I have been in crummy hotels before but this on takes the cake! The only good thing about the hotel it is walking distance to The Meadows and that is why we chose it. That is why I selected location as the best. This hotel is next to the highway, on a service road. I did notice a public park entrance about 500ft away upon leaving. I didn't ask them for any "service" so I cant say.

Our room had strange stains on the walls; something that resembled peanut butter was splattered on the ceiling and the wall next to the desk was beyond a weeks forth of filth. I get the impression they don't paint the walls annually, which I would think would be required. The bed was hard as a rock. The blanket and cloth headboard (perfect spot for lice/bedbugs) had cigarette burns in it. I had to wash everything I brought when I got home. God only knows.

The toilet bowl was oblong in shape, the seat was round. This meant every time you sat down your body would touch the bowl. This isn't sanitary, actually I don't think the bathroom was cleaned prior to our arrival. There was lots of hair on the floor and not just one strand. If I had to guess, someone lives in room #227 and vacates when the rooms sell out.

So the place was dirty, smelled, tiny in size, the furniture old/shot and additionally the owners charged each additional car $30 a night for parking. Oh, and there is a rumor online that there is bed bugs going around this hotel after the concert I went to 6/17-18 2010.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yenzi203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
2.5 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
2.2 km away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.5 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hartford

Property: Super 8 Hartford
Address: 57 West Service Road, I-91 exit 33, Hartford, CT 06120-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Price range (per night): $81 - $108
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hartford 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes of downtown Hartford, CT. All rates include Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Free WI-FI Internet, Free Parking (Buses, RVs, & Trucks Welcome). Walking distance to CT EXPO Center, Dodge Music Center, and HARTFORD MEADOWS. Call Now to Book Rooms-!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hartford / Windsor Hotel Hartford
Super Eight Hartford
Hartford Super Eight
Hartford Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing