We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

The little cottage is in it's own garden, with only one neighbour upstairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The little cottage is in it's own garden, with only one neighbour upstairs.
the day bed is in the bedroom, and can be used a single or double. The comfortable double bed has a lovely view of the garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The little cottage is in it's own garden, with only one neighbour upstairs.
the day bed is in the bedroom, and can be used a single or double.
The comfortable double bed has a lovely view of the garden.
The compact kitchen has a small seating area, and kitchen table. There's a TV here in too.
comfy sofa, and table which can seat up to four.
The kitchen has a fridge, freezer box, oven, two ring hob and microwave.
The old stone steps give access to the shared area of the garden , through the gate is ours!
The sheltered patio in the shared area of garden, only shared with upstairs neighbour.
A comfortable sunny spot right outside the cottage door for a coffee!
Kames Bay Beach is about eight minutes walk from the cottage.
Plenty of quiet walks within reach. This one takes about fifteen minutes.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Millport, Great Cumbrae, The Cumbraes, North Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
July2016d...
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

2 minutes from shore and shops, very clean,has everything you need from home to home. Beds are really comfy. Great for biking and hiking. Had great time,even on rainy days. Will be booking again. Garden perfect for small kids and dogs, roses smell beautiful. Stayed for 4 nights.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're delighted that you liked our wee cottage. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Paradise”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed in Millport on numerous occasions but have to say that Rose Cottage was the best. Beautiful, immaculate and well presented flat which has everything you need. We stayed for 5 days at the beginning of May for a much needed break and that's what we got. I loved the fact that it was dog friendly and it was difficult to get my wee dog Lyla back in from the garden as she loved lounging in it. Ideal location central to everything. Communication with Jen was fantastic. We loved it so much that we are retuning in August to her other property. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Weather but it's Scotland
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thank you so much Julie - we look forward to welcoming you back to Millport in August!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lorraine ”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Rose Cottage is a home away from home. We had a wonderful stay in this lovely cottage with our two dogs. What a warm friendly island. A great place to relax, unwind and explore to your hearts content. A hidden paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
What a lovely review! So pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. We'd love to see you another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandma29...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rose Cottage a unique experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just back from a long weekend in Millport with my family. We stayed in Rose Cottage which is a unique, quirky house in the middle of the Island. It was extremely clean and had everything anyone could need for a holiday.
Millport breaks is a very welcoming site to use and Jen will reply to any of your requests very quickly.
Would totally recommend as the rest of my family stayed in the other properties .which they offer..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As it said on the tin
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thanks for your lovely review, hope to see you all another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn232013
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, quiet cottage, ideal location and dog friendly”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights and would happily go back.
The cottage is very spacious, well laid out and very central for walking to the shops etc.
The private, enclosed back garden was nice to sit out in and enjoy the evening.
There was a comfortable double bed and day bed for lounging on after long walks round the island.
The kitchen was nicely laid out and everything you could need was in there.
I have rented other holiday lets on the island from Jen before and can say that Rose Cottage is my favourite. Comunication with the owners was straight forward (I got stuck in traffic and was late arriving) and the fact that I can bring my dog along is the icing on the cake.
I hope to return later in the year to this cottage and enjoy the walks, seal spotting off the beach and the local ice cream again x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacful, quiet location, very well presented
Liked least: Could do with a few extra shelves in the bathroom
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Glad you enjoyed your break_ we'd be delighted to welcome you back any time with Bella and your new arrival!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing