We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Griswold Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 135*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Inn(Old Saybrook)
USD 91*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier Blue Guesthouse(Old Saybrook)
USD 91*
USD 88*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 77*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 87*
USD 81*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 263*
USD 237*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 207*
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clinton Motel(Clinton)
USD 71*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
175
102
41
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
102
41
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barnew englandconnecticut riverquaint townmain buildingmodern bathroomgreat lunchclam chowdersitting roomprime ribstep back in timeantique furnituregreat historybagelscodsmall roomstandard room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The place is everything these review tell and more! The place is full of history and charm, but still the service is everything you can hope for. Extra points for the amazing restaurant downstairs - the foie gras (duck liver pate) was best I've eaten outside France. Wonderful little town too, worth a walk around the beautiful small streets. Would recommend highly and come back anytime.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so it might be good advice to ask for help when choosing. We walked in without reservation, and the receptionist kindly gave us keys to three rooms so that we could walk upstairs and pick our favourite - and it happened without us asking for it!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Griswold is a great spot to escape the family, enjoy some good food, listen/dance to festive music and stroll through the litle shops of Essex. The staff is friendly, accomodating and very welcoming to everyone who walks in. While we love staying there, the hotel does need to upgrade their soft goods - blankets, beds, pillows, hangars, carpeting, etc. Just a little bit of touches would make this inn much more enjoyable however we'll still come back!

Room Tip: Go for the suite - worth the extra money
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My three friends and I (in our 40s) enjoyed staying at the Griswold Inn. We were in the building across the street from the main inn and above the gift shop. Stairs are a bit steep. Happy to find that there was no TV! Possibly the only place in North America to escape television. Room was very colonial with a working gas fireplace, very modern bath, one queen bed and a surprisingly comfortable pullout couch. The tap room at the inn is very cool. Dark wood, lots of atmosphere although a little tight for seating. The free continental breakfast on Sunday was great too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murrantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Griswold Inn, an inn first started in 1776, and they have being getting better and better every year.
This year was our sixth visit to this inn, every time we like the inn and staff more and more.
From the welcoming and helpefull front desk staff to the room staff everyone is dedicated to help you enjoy your stay. The rooms are furnished in period pieces that fit in so well, there is a certain olde worlde charm and ambiance to the entire inn.
From the Tap room to the wine bar the food, drink and overall look of the place is great, not to mention the nightly entertainment in the tap room, especially good are the monday night sea shanties performed by the Jovial crew, and of course the rest of the tap room.
One has a problem however in dining at the Gris, there are so many prints, artifacts, books and posters on the walls one could quite easilly be sidetracked from eating the marvelous offerings from the kitchens.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, but the third floor at the back, (#9) is about the quietest in the inn
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huwman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Griswold is a place with plenty of character in teh lovely little town of Essex. We were there for two nights, and while there is not much else to do in the town in the evening, the fact that the hotel offer the choice of a good tavern, a wine bar and a restuarant makes up for this on a short stay. The rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished, if a little small (to be fair this is alluded to on the website). Good continentalbreakffast choices too. The front staff in the evening were very helpful and friendly, but the guy there in the morning could do with cheering up a bit and generally acting like he actually wanted to be there! A minor blemish though in an otherwise very good stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews