We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Holiday Lights at Lake Compounce

Fun park to see the Holiday Lights, Enjoyed by all, but especially by young children as not all... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Eva C
,
New Britain, Connecticut
Busy day at the park

On a beautiful, sunny and hot Labor Day, my family and I went to cool off at Lake Compounce water... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
RoadtripCowboy
,
Burlington, CT
Read all 760 reviews
  
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
338
270
71
40
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
270
71
40
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free soda boulder dash amusement park haunted graveyard six flags season pass roller coaster water park wave pool all ages ghost hunt holiday lights great park sky ride pirate ship waterpark area lazy river
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

This place is good and not to far from where I love the water park is not bad service is good and Halloween is fun

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank 227nelsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Hi Nelson,
Thank you for your positive review, we are so happy you enjoy visiting us! We agree the water park is awesome. Come back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Lake compounds has everything from games to roller coasters to water slides. The staff is great and the history of the park is amazing!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank joelle_wankerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you Joelle! The history of the park is amazing, and we take pride in the friendliness of our staff! We are so happy that you had enjoyed your time with us. Come back to visit again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

This a nice, family amusement park. Older style place, fair size but not huge. Good variety of rides. I like Thunder Rapids, a lazy canyon style water ride, and Ghost Hunt, a haunted ride where you "shoot" ghosts with laser guns as the car winds its way through the ride, and the classic mini train ride through the park. Star attraction, though is Boulderdash, a classic wooden roller coaster. This coaster is built into the hillside and weaves through giant boulders along the way. Really well designed, awesome ride. There is also the Wildcat, a smaller, less awesome wooden coaster. Seats on the Wildcat must have been made in the 1930s or something, because they're quite small for the average adult. I went purely for the Boulderdash coaster and it is truly awesome. If you like wooden coasters this park is must!

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Stacey, Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on being the premier family amusement park in Connecticut. Fun Fact, we are the oldest continuously-operating amusement park in the United States! We are so happy that you had enjoyed your time with us at the park, Boulderdash is definitely a fan favorite and it seems you had an amazing time checking it out along with our other attractions. Come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We came for the holiday lights with the kids friends. The park did a great job with all the lights and the unlimited hot chocolate was a create deal and really helped fight back the cold temperatures. Not all the rides are open, but it is more than enough to entertain the kids for a couple hours.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi Nicholas,
Thank you for visiting! We are so happy that you had enjoyed your time at Holiday Lights. And we agree, the hot chocolate is definitely great at fighting off the cold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The family and I visited the Lake Compounce lights display on Thanksgiving weekend to begin the holiday season. It was surprisingly crowded on that first night, considering it was quite cold. The giant lighted Christmas tree by the entrance was a wonderful sight to see. The train ride around the park with Christmas music was fun with the many lighted figures and signs along the way. We even dared to go on a few of the smaller rides that were open, if we bundled up. We found the building where Santa was posing for pictures with help from the elves. The hot chocolate was popular that night. The synchronized light and music presentation that occurred every so often at certain areas of the park was really entertaining. We even picked up a few holiday item souvenirs at one of the gift shops. It was a great way to get into the holiday spirit and we enjoyed it.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank RoadtripCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hello,
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at Holiday Lights. Our hot chocolate is always a favorite, and with unlimited refills, you can't go wrong! It truly is a great way to get into the Holiday Spirit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews