We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free Soda, No thanks!!”
Review of Lake Compounce

Lake Compounce
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Bristol
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 402 acres of fun, Lake Compounce is the oldest continuously operating amusement park in North America, welcoming families since 1846. Lake Compounce has ten cozy catering pavilions and plenty of room to host your next birthday, party, family reunion, and corporate event! Lake Compounce combines unique and exciting thrill rides and coasters for all ages with a full-sized water park—all for one low price. As the park continues to delight families from all around the New England area and beyond, the balance of evolution and tradition continues to play an important role at the nation’s first amusement park.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

now that they have discontinued the free soda policy it is time for me to say goodbye to the lake.
My family and I had a good run, but the only fair way for me to show my displeasure is to not give them any more of my hard-earned money.

6  Thank pvhspidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello, We are very sorry you feel that way. We have changed our soda policy to help positively impact the environment and reduce the amount of waste produced. Free Soda is still available for Diamond or Platinum Season Pass Holders. We also have our Park souvenir cup available to purchase with unlimited refills on day redeemed and then .99 cents any day after. Free water is also available for guest to take advantage of throughout the day to stay hydrated as they enjoy all of the attractions we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free soda"
in 109 reviews
"six flags"
in 60 reviews
"boulder dash"
in 121 reviews
"amusement park"
in 120 reviews
"haunted graveyard"
in 40 reviews
"season pass"
in 49 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 56 reviews
"water park"
in 194 reviews
"wave pool"
in 47 reviews
"all ages"
in 59 reviews
"ghost hunt"
in 15 reviews
"great park"
in 34 reviews
"lazy river"
in 28 reviews
"holiday lights"
in 14 reviews
"sky ride"
in 20 reviews
"preferred parking"
in 9 reviews
"pirate ship"
in 21 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

This place is good and not to far from where I love the water park is not bad service is good and Halloween is fun

1  Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Hi Nelson,
Thank you for your positive review, we are so happy you enjoy visiting us! We agree the water park is awesome. Come back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Lake compounds has everything from games to roller coasters to water slides. The staff is great and the history of the park is amazing!

1  Thank joelle_wankerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you Joelle! The history of the park is amazing, and we take pride in the friendliness of our staff! We are so happy that you had enjoyed your time with us. Come back to visit again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

This a nice, family amusement park. Older style place, fair size but not huge. Good variety of rides. I like Thunder Rapids, a lazy canyon style water ride, and Ghost Hunt, a haunted ride where you "shoot" ghosts with laser guns as the car winds its way through the ride, and the classic mini train ride through the park. Star attraction, though is Boulderdash, a classic wooden roller coaster. This coaster is built into the hillside and weaves through giant boulders along the way. Really well designed, awesome ride. There is also the Wildcat, a smaller, less awesome wooden coaster. Seats on the Wildcat must have been made in the 1930s or something, because they're quite small for the average adult. I went purely for the Boulderdash coaster and it is truly awesome. If you like wooden coasters this park is must!

1  Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Stacey, Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on being the premier family amusement park in Connecticut. Fun Fact, we are the oldest continuously-operating amusement park in the United States! We are so happy that you had enjoyed your time with us at the park, Boulderdash is definitely a fan favorite and it seems you had an amazing time checking it out along with our other attractions. Come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We came for the holiday lights with the kids friends. The park did a great job with all the lights and the unlimited hot chocolate was a create deal and really helped fight back the cold temperatures. Not all the rides are open, but it is more than enough to entertain the kids for a couple hours.

1  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, Manager at Lake Compounce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi Nicholas,
Thank you for visiting! We are so happy that you had enjoyed your time at Holiday Lights. And we agree, the hot chocolate is definitely great at fighting off the cold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Compounce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing