We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Town Italian Food”
Review of Mama Sanninos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mama Sanninos
Ranked #25 of 113 Restaurants in Wheat Ridge
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We LOVE Mama's. My in-laws insist at least one dinner here every time they visit. Charming atmosphere, great menu, surprisingly affordable prices, and Italian food like your mama used to make.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank rmessick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

First time.
Recommended by friends who live in Wheat Ridge and were familiar with the previous location in Arvada.
Waitress was very pleasant and the food very good.
Only complaints are:
1) the chopped sirloin steak with mushrooms had far too few mushrooms; but flavor was excellent.
2) the fact they close at 8pm. Getting across town after work in Denver Metro traffic is a bear and arriving for dinner at 6:30 is too late to enjoy a casual meal with conversation. Before you know it it is 8pm and there is that “pressure” to leave as the staff begins cleaning up for the night. I’d ask that Mama Sanninos consider a 9pm closing time.
Beyond those two items I’d recommend it as a nice, small, family style Italian restaurant with very good food.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank BldrDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We've probably been here half a dozen times now. We live just over the border in Denver, but love the family feel of this place. Seems like a lot of old-timers are here most of the time, but my kids six and eight both love it. We often come on the way home from school after a busy day at work and the relaxed feel is perfect. Callie served us once and her dish is our favorite. Love the sauce so much my son ordered extra to bring home.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank 982erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Our company had its Christmas Party here last week. We had around 70 people. Jimmy the owner accommodated by opening the restaurant on a Sunday night. Service was outstanding. For appetizers we had sausage and peppers accompanied with fried ravioli. Both were outstanding and nice size portions. A nice sized salad with choice of dressing was served. Now for the best, a half roasted chicken, eggplant parmigiana or stuffed shells were served. Everyone raved about the chicken. It was so moist the meat just fell off the bone. Very favorable. The eggplant parmigiana and the stuffed shells had great reviews. Pasta was served with the entree. To finish off the meal, spumoni ice cream was served. We have already had requests to have the party here next year. I have personally visited the restaurant many times and never had a bad experience. Jimmy the owner, a native of Denver, was part of the old Three Sons Restaurant and his father owned Jim Sanos Restaurant on University Blvd for many years.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Sampunin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Old Italian family recipes. Outstanding Service. Food was fresh and tasty. A hidden gem in Wheatridge. Unbelievable value enough food to take home for another meal. Second time we visited in a couple of weeks.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Sampunin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Sanninos also viewed

 

Been to Mama Sanninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing