We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely vista. Well worth visiting ”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Polgooth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 66
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee. Enjoy cosy fires in the winter months and a great pub garden in the summer
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

This pub is close to me, yet I’d never visited. Popped in for lunch today with family as we were driving past that way. Absolutely lovely pub and we’ll definitely be back. Great food, very generous portions and beautifully done inside and outside. The outside is a particular delight. Very well set out tables on separate levels, with lovely views and even ‘booths’ you can sit in.

Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

We are really pleased to hear that you found us! Don't forget we have a really popular quiz night on Tuesdays, we serve fantastic breakfast on a Friday & Saturday mornings, great roasts on Sundays too. Coming up we will be having live music sessions in the summer. Don't forget to check out our outdoor dining pods for a great view of our heritage fruit and vegetable gardens! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Visited Polgooth Inn for my birthday with friends, very friendly, helpful staff, attentive waitress, quick delivery of drinks order and food orders. The scampi and chips are excellent and plentiful, I only had a half order and it was more than enough, I also had a free birthday drink, amazing. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeLamprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Great to hear that you had a lovely Birthday here recently! The staff will be pleased to know that you had a great time! Come and see us again soon! Don't forget to check out our latest small batch brews of our Gin of the Week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Our first Polgooth experience was one of those where you're driving the family around St Austell looking for somewhere to have dinner and everywhere had either stopped serving food, was really busy or just didn't appeal. We saw the sign on the main road in London Apprentice and headed up the lane to Polgooth.

What a pleasant surprise it was, great food, great beer and a lovely location. Since then we make a point of visiting the Polgooth wherever we are staying in Cornwall, its become a destination pub for us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peteoheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

We look forward to welcoming you to our Pub when you are next in the County! Don't forget we serve a fantastic breakfast on a Friday & Saturday morning too! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Went here at Christmas 2017 and the food was excellent. Great service and a lovely day had by all. Looking forward to our next visit

Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Great to hear that you chose to visit us again, why not try out one of our outdoor dining pods? Its a perfect place to sit and relax while you take in the view of our heritage fruit and veg garden! There is always lots going on here, don't forget to check out our 'Wine of the Week' or one of our small batch specials! see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here after a recommendation and we weren’t disappointed. After driving around the villages looking for somewhere to eat and discovering the eateries are not open all day we were glad we finally found this lovely Inn.
The service was excellent, staff friendly and food just right after a long day of exploring. The prices were reasonable too .

Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Lovely to hear that you stopped to enjoy Sunday lunch. we will pass your compliments on to our team. Thanks once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 
Carlyon Bay, St Austell
 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing