We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vail Mountain Lodge
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

so close to the village ande slopes this high end hotel has a health spa and a great restaurant in the same building

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaseec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Vail Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 284 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

The VML has a good location. It is close to all of the Vail Village shops and restaurants but not in the middle of the noise. The Vail Village parking structure is directly across the street and in off season there is free self-parking.

The room was quiet, nicely furnished, with a large bathroom including separate tub and shower. It was on the valley view side (I-70 side), but I did not notice any noise. The room had a refrigerator, single serve coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless internet access, and a fireplace - very comfortable.

The breakfast buffet at Terra Bistro had a nice selection of fruit juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins and bread, plus two or three hot items that were different every day. Everything was super fresh.

Also included in the room rate was access to the Vail Athletic Club in the lower levels of the lodge.. This is a great hotel perk. Free weights, weight machines, a variety of cardio equipment, various classes, and a full locker room with sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, plus the cold plunge has to be experienced.

The hotel staff was very friendly and always available to answer questions.

I wanted to take a break and relax - the VML was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RDShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. . .our hope is to provide the "perfect" getaway, with all the trimmings, and it sounds as if that was your experience.

We share these comments with our staff in an attempt to improve the experience for our guests, and it's always gratifying for them to hear from satisfied customers.

Please visit again soon. . .and often!

Frank Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We recently took a trip to Vail, Colorado and selected Vail Mountain Lodge and Spa as our hotel. What a great choice we made! It was more than we could have ever expected! The rooms were exceptionally well done and spotless! The view was spectacular! And the staff was friendly and extremely professional to make sure everything surpassed our expectations.
Great time, great view, great food, great stay! I look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here at the Vail Mountain Lodge! Our loyal guests are our best source of NEW guests, and we appreciate your taking the time to let us know that things were exceptional during your stay. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to improve our service or facilities.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We really looked forward to returning here for a night on our vacation especially because there is an excellent restaurant on site & breakfast was included. My husband recently had foot surgery and can only walk a very short distance. The location, room, and fitness center on site are ideal. At check in I specifically asked when the breakfast buffet was available, and was told by the clerk 7:30-11am which I wrote down. In the morning we went for breakfast around 10:30 and were told it had already closed at 10am. We weren't offered any food or compensation, and ended up having to purchase some food at Safeway and eating in the car. Not fun. Made what could have been a delightful stay into a forgettable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoSemiNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for letting me know about your visit to the Vail Mountain Lodge. . .I'm really very pleased with all the great things you experienced, but am truly sorry for the way that your breakfast problem was handled. . .I know that efforts were made to help you and your husband, but we obviously didn't offer you an option that could really work for you. When you are again in the area, please let me know, as I would love to offer you a complimentary visit, so we can make amends and show you the hospitality that we're famous for.

We hate for anyone to have a "less than satisfactory" experience, and would love the opportunity to be your host again!

Frank Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed there for the pro bike race that was in town. Overall a nice stay. My room overlooked a roof and the air conditioner but was nice none the less. Would go back but would require a mountain view room

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSU87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! Of course I was disappointed to learn that the view from your room was not to your liking, and we would have been happy to address that. Since virtually all of our rooms face either Vail Mountain to the south, or Bald Mountain to the north, we'd love to have the opportunity to be your host again, so you can get the full Vail Mountain Lodge experience, INCLUDING a view.

Please let me know when your travel plans will include Vail again, and I'll be happy to work with you to assure you of a satisfactory view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.3 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,277 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
622 reviews
1.5 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.6 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Mountain Lodge

Address: 352 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vail
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $253 - $1,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail's most unique property is nestled along Gore Creek in the heart of Vail Village, walking distance from ski lifts, shopping, and dining. With 20 hotel rooms and 7 two and three bedroom condos, the hotel offers B&B intimacy and service as well as first rate amenities including the Vitality Center, featuring a full service spa, access to health club which includes classes and health & medical practitioners. Terra Bistro, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner has been a Vail favorite for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vail Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Mountain Lodge And Spa
Vail Mountain Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing