We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Menu, Great Staff”

Up the Creek Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Menu, Great Staff”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The chef does a great job with menu offerings. Our table tried the truffle frites, crab cakes, beef carpaccio, etc. for appetizers and all were delicious. For main courses we had the buffalo tenderloin, venizon, pork chop, ribeye and scallops and all were outstanding. They also offer trout, salmon and a vegetable risotto that I'm sure are just as good. Excellent wine list. The bartender sent our table a dessert on the house at the end of the night to top off our lovely experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    141
    38
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

4 of us ate here and loved it. The french fries with blue cheese dressing was to die for. Good service and felt more casual. We all enjoyed our meals very much.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Variable......”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our first dinner there was stunning and so we returned for another which was only average - perhaps it was the chef's night off?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank spanysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bad service, food avg”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Went with husband, mom and 4 month old who was in carseat the entire time and sleeping. My mom is allergic to everything except chicken and nothing on the menu with chicken. Waitress said she can substitute a fish entrée with chicken so not a huge deal. Waited 20 min just for bread. Entrees took 30+ min to come out. Not one word about how our meal was until after we were almost done. To haileys credit there was another large table she was tending to but then someone else should have waited on us. Very bad service. My pork chop was large and good but a tad salty. Food was good but def not worth the price. We grew up in NYC and the restaurants who can charge $40 for a pork chop in the most expensive city in the US are still a better value than this place. Would not recommend or ever go back. Overrated. Terrible service but that may be specific to our server. Food OK.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyingLife210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bent NM
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“2nd best in the Village”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Up the Creek lies in the pedestrian mall area of Vail Village. It is just to the right after you cross the covered bridge from the public parking lot. It is on the Creek below Sapphire Restaurant. This is a fine dining place but a clear notch below Sapphire. The lamb is good but skip on the sausage as it contains far too much sage. They make a mean martini. We spent around $150 for 2 including a good wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Up the Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing