We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at the Four Seasons Vail. We are very loyal to the brand and were hoping for the best, but left feeling somewhat disappointed.

Decor: Layout is a bit odd, and it feels more corporate than mountain rustic.
Service: Excellent
Food: Not good. Ate only breakfast at the hotel, but roomservice waffle and huevor rancheros were both not good. The next morning we ate at the restaurant, Flame, where the waffle guy pulled the waffle out of the iron with his bare hands. Oh, and we also waited 15 minutes before anyone offered us water, menus, took our order, etc. The third morning we went to the grab and go cafe in the lobby - very limited selection, and not really a full breakfast.
Location: It's definitely a walk, albeit a pleasant one. I'd say 10-15 minutes. The ski concierge is really nice and they do try to do everything possible to make it easier for you, but there's no denying this is not ski in/ski out and you lose a lot of the conveniences that come with that.
Room: Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, kind of sterile decor. Not cozy/mountain chic/etc.
Spa: Lovely - great massages, lovely waiting room, beautiful cold/warm pools for each sex

Mostly, for the price and given the brand, we expected more. The lack of a mountain-y decor and the very lackluster food, combined with the disappointing location just made for a sort of "meh" stay.

FYI, we had some amazing meals elsewhere - Sweet Basil, Kelly Liken, Game Creek Lodge, and The Left Bank

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkgal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    117
    52
    13
    9
See reviews for
277
364
17
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a new Four Seasons and only if you have stayed at another FS property would you realize the Vail group is a little off in service, especially Flame Resturant. Avoid the Resturant untill they can figure it out. I won't bore you with all the details. I spoke with the manager and he was very receptive, hopefully they will get it sorted out. The Ski Concerierge carried the day, they were fantastic. This property has a lot of potential and with a little more time I believe they will reach the same level of service as other FS property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitleybh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Upon checking in March 11 we were told we were upgraded to a suite. At that point realized I might not be able to write an objective review, but will try anyway. Not too tough, as with exception of a few issues, this is a first class, 5 star, beautiful resort. First time in Vail and wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the Four Seasons. Particulars:

Room: as mentioned, upgraded to a suite gratis. Since we had a 5th night free stay, overall average cost for our stay was ~$410/night (and included 2 massages, $300 charge). Room was remarkable. Separate living room, both bedroom and living room with 42 inch TV's and DVD players. Off bedroom is hall to bathroom with enormous storage-closets, shelves, drawers. Bathroom is huge with two sinks, deep soaking tub, separate shower, again huge amount of storage space. Off living room is another bathroom with shower and toilet/sink. Also bar area with small refrigerator. Room itself immaculate, also extremely quiet. Had occupied room next door but heard not a sound and no sounds from outside either except soft tolling of church bells. Cleaning service was efficient and timely. Couldn't do enough for you.

Skiing: so, not a ski in/out place but next best thing. They take your equipment upon arrival and bring it to the concierge where it waits for you each morning. Walk to the building is about 8-10 minutes through village, quite pleasant. Can take shuttle if so inclined but a pleasant walk. Concierge is wonderful. Skis waiting in morning. Have a dedicated locker during your stay which has heated rods to hang gloves and boots from. Building to lift is 40 seconds or so They also wait at the bottom of the lift to pick up your equipment at the end of the day (starting at ~2 PM). The concierge also has drinks, machine to make hot chocolate, chai, coffee; fresh cookies, muffins, water. The staff there can't do enough for you either. At end of trip equipment is packed up and delivered back to the hotel for you.

Spa/pool area: Outside area has large heated pool and two hot tubs. Also have drink service available outside (more on that later). Inside spa has to be seen and used. It is available free of charge to all guests and it is magnificent. Huge, separate mens/women's area. Both sound similar: huge hot tub with smaller cooling down tub next to it. Both sauna and spa rooms. Private showers, keyed lockers, lounge area to relax. Did have our two massages and they were excellent, both masseuses knew what they were doing. Fantastic facility.

Negatives: Just a few: (1)$20 for a single glass of wine poolside. Not including tip. Seriously, should at least include a refill (kidding). Seems a little overpriced to say the least. (2)Similarly, we ate one morning in the Flame in the Four Seasons. Service was slow-though only a few people there, took longer to get our breakfast than any dinner we had in the village. Again, prices were absurd-$6 for a bagel (nothing special either) and $7 for a tiny glass of fresh squeezed orange juice, $19 for 2 scrambled eggs and hash browns. These prices seem more what you might run into in an isolated resort on an island where you have no choice where to eat. You have plenty of choices in the village steps away and would recommend taking them. (3)Bedside lamps in bedroom were adequate but always surprised more hotels don't include dedicated reading lamps, like a wall mounted halogen spot for those that occasionally read in bed.

But, don't let these small points detract from what is an outstanding resort to stay. Just eat elsewhere.

Tips:

(1)If flying in, don't rent a car Village easy to navigate on foot (or shuttle) and not worth hassle.

(2)Great breakfast at 'The Little Diner' at Lionshead (10 minute walk).

(3)If looking for a special dinner, 'The Left Bank' in the village is outstanding. Expensive, but well worth it. Superb food, service, atmosphere.

(4)Other extreme is 'Mo's Barbecue' next to 'The Little Diner'. Inexpensive comfort food, pulled pork, chicken, turkey. Delicious and really low cost.

Room Tip: Hope for an upgrade. First time we got so lucky and it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JW/SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence, ny
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A wonderful new addition to Vail Mountain. This luxury hotel has just about every amenity. Combine this with outstanding, warm & friendly service and you have the ultimate vacation (ski) experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cori246jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My family stayed at Four Seasons Vail in January, and it's the best ski accommodation we have experienced.

The service is second-to-none throughout. There is a Gorsuch Ski Concierge in the hotel where all ski hire is arranged, and then skis are taken to the ski concierge near the chair lift. You never need to take your skis anywhere - it's all taken care of for you!

The rooms have a fireplace and are very luxurious. Flame Restaurant food and service was exceptional. Room service was also excellent. I hope to spend more time at the Spa next time as it looks amazing!

The hotel car service is wonderful and can take you to nearby places on request.

We can't wait to visit again, hopefully next January :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back next season!
Kind Regards,
Dana Berry
Director of PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.9 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.0 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
14.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Property: Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Address: 1 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
Price range (per night): $367 - $2,318
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Vail Village, Four Seasons Resort Vail presents a fresh interpretation of a grand alpine hotel. With 121 guestrooms, 19 Residence Club units and 16 Private Residences, the Resort features amazing mountain views, a signature restaurant, Flame, and full-service Spa with 13 treatment rooms. The heated pool, flanked by a fireplace, is open year-round. In winter, skiing is a breeze with the Four Seasons Ski Concierge at the base of the Vista Bahn chairlift. In summer, families discover dazzling outdoor enjoyment, with an abundance of activities including horseback riding, fly fishing, zip lining, rafting, biking and more. With the largest guestrooms in all of Vail Valley — each with a soaking tub and a stone fireplace — you may not want to leave the room! Yet the Resort is just steps away to Village nightlife, shopping, al fresco dining and the renowned Village "apres" lifestyle Vail is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Vail
Four Seasons Resort Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing