We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price? Not sure”

Low Country Kitchen Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Our group was really excited about the fried chicken at Low Country. And while everyone said that it was good and crunchy, the pieces were a bit small (I was not able to partake due to food allergies) as were most of the side dishes. I had a burger which was ok and served with mashed potatoes, but overall not very filling. A number of sides were ordered, including the biscuits, but none of them were all that great, I would say average. Apparently, the biscuits were a bit dry and not fluffy (again, didn’t partake). They ran out of the bottle of wine we had ordered and we had to switch to a new one for the second round. I will say the deviled eggs were quite delicious. Also, as a few reviews I had seen on other sites indicated, the table closest too the door can get quite chilly every time the door opens, just an FYI. This was worthy of a visit, but I think we would try another place next time we are in steamboat.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank aikanebrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Low Country with a group of friends celebrating our last night on vacation, and wow..... I can’t express how impressed we all were with the quality of food here. All four of us ordered cocktails to start, which were so tasty and did not skimp on the booze. We shared two marrow bones, the chicken pot pie and wings for appetizers, and could not fault any of the dishes. In particular the marrow and pie were to die for. For mains, we shared a six piece fried chicken, shrimp and grits, collared greens, mash potatoes and slaw. The sides were absolutely exquisite, and the entrees were so flavorful, comforting and moreish. Dessert was also delicious... in particular the homemade mint ice cream. All four of us are either from the south or have lived in the south, and have not stopped talking about the food! The service was also wonderful, and the pricing very reasonable! We will definitely be back!!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank shaunan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The kitchen was too busy to get out food in as timely a fashion as it should have. Go during slower hours if you want to get your food in under an hour. That noted our daughters loved the shrimp and grits. Chicken was good, not great. A tad underseasoned, and a tad over cooked. Service and drinks were good, but stymied by the kitchen.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank john P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Good new is the fried chicken and fried okra are great. Gumbo, well, not so much.
Other dishes we tried were just ok.
Service left a lot to be desired.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Billy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We have eaten here several times but this time something was off just a little. We had an $85 bottle of white wine that was fair at best-the fried chicken was good as always. The gravy had a bit of a sour taste-not as good as in the past. The service was excellent-It was crowded almost to a point of too many folks on a Tuesday night at 6:30pm. Our table was along the front glass and the couple next to us was bumping into my chair all night. Maybe one too many tables for the size? Will be back as it is our favorite in Steamboat and they may just have not had a great night. Have eaten at their place in Denver which is always good.

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank 3,020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Low Country Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Low Country Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing