We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
156
54
19
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
54
19
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast jacuzzi tub oxygen bar box fan wolf creek rustic feel cinnamon rolls main building yogurt room was comfortable and clean chain hotel knotty pine small fridge front porch rio grande love this place will stay there again
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Best value in the west, awesome breakfast and genuine hospitality. The recently remodeled rooms, hot tub, and rustic feel are only a part of what makes Spruce Lodge the top stay if you are looking for a spot in the South Fork area. The folks you will find running the place are super cool, helpful, and will take time to make sure you can enjoy your stay worry free. Also, if you have questions about anything else, they are very knowlegeable about local history as well as current happening. The options available for room size, privacy, features and location are all an incredible value. Oxygen bar is also a big plus

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! The brand new hot tub is nice, isn't it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Second time booking here, both times have been wonderful. Would definitely recommend. Bed are comfortable, the heater works if you need it. Hot tub is awesome after a day on the slopes. And who can complain about free WiFi.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thanks for your very nice review! We do have amazing, free WiFi and the brand new hot tub can't be beat. I'm so glad you got to experience these! Have a wonderful day and please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

I knew I was booking an old-school, rustic place and wanted to like it, but I didn't think it would be disgusting... I've never stayed anywhere so gross. The bathroom was filthy, hair everywhere. There was hair all over our bed. The furniture was incredibly worn out, as was the flooring and the bathroom. The windows didn't shut, much less lock. No HVAC, just a dirty noisy old box fan. Breakfast was a joke, and there are cats running around in there with the food. The staff was not helpful or freindly.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kalephrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

I'm sorry, I don't recall speaking with you during your stay. We always ask that if a guest has a problem, it should be brought to our attention so that we can fix it. If your room was unsatisfactory, we would have cleaned it or given you a different room.

Please offer us the basic courtesy of telling us which room and which date so that we can determine what may have gone wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This is a nice little lodge that was perfect for our weekend ski trip at Wolf Creek. We stayed in the building beside the main lodge where there are a few guest rooms. The room was adequate, clean and warm. It is not fancy and it is not a chain hotel, so if that's what you want then this is not the place for you. It is very cozy and homey and has a rustic feel to it.

The main lodge building has a fireplace and a small restaurant with several guest rooms upstairs. We did not stay in this area, but did take a tour and it looked nice. It is a very old historic building, so I imagine it is noisier than a regular hotel but it has much more character to it as well.

There is a free continental breakfast that is offered on the enclosed front porch. They have coffee, tea, cereal, bagels, yogurt several packaged items and some other stuff. Nothing huge, but good enough to get you going.

There is a BBQ restaurant next door that has very good food. We ate there twice and really enjoyed it.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will likely stay here next time we visit Wolf Creek.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONALD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your nice review. It is pleasant to hear the things we do right, instead of just the things we do wrong. The old Lodge is neat, I'm glad you had time to walk through the upstairs rooms.

Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This 1920's era 2 story lodge was a great stay. From what I understand, lodging is located on the 2nd floor of the main building or in adjacent single story detached building and possibly a cabin. While I stayed in the 2nd floor lodge, the room and common areas were nicely decorated with period decorations. The bed was too soft and woke up with a back ache. Not that I minded, but some people may be sensitive to the wood floor squeak in the hall way and in the rooms. This in my opinion adds to the history and experience of this place. Nice wood burning fireplace in the lobby.

Room tip: Possibly quieter floors in the single story rooms.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank snappytraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee P, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

We are so glad you got to experience the history and ambiance of the main building. It's a lot of fun and something entirely different from anywhere else.

Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews