We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lost Valley Ranch
Nearby Hotels
USD 162*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 205*
USD 175*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Castle Rock(Castle Rock)(Great Value!)
USD 182*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Castle Rock(Castle Rock)(Great Value!)
USD 155*
USD 132*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 118*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 74*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Castle Rock(Castle Rock)(Great Value!)
USD 132*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 136*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 145*
USD 127*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 132*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
170
0
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
0
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingfamily vacationsquare danceporch swinglost valleyriding skillskids programthe main lodgebreakfast each morninghorseswranglerstrailaccommodationstrottingmountainstennishorsemanship
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

There aren't enough superlatives to describe what a fabulous time we had at Lost Valley. Everything about it was superb - the staff, accommodation, the riding and the food. It was like no other holiday we have ever been on. Having never been to a ranch before, we didn't know what to expect. We were certainly not disappointed. It exceeded all of our expectations.The whole ethos of the ranch is to create a friendly, family atmosphere, and they certainly achieve this. We got engaged whilst at the ranch, and the staff and other guests made us feel so special. It was so refreshing to be surrounded for miles by such beautiful scenery. The riding was amazing, and all skill levels are catered for. You can do as much or as little as you like. If you are considering a ranch holiday, this is the place to go. Lost Valley Ranch certainly deserves all the great reviews, and we look forward to planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvlranch, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review. We are absolutely honored that Lost Valley was the location for such a big occasion as getting engaged. Take care and know that we are waiting across the cattle guard for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

From age seven to seventy, Lost Valley Ranch has everything! One can choose to ride, hike, or fish all day or simply enjoy God's creation with a good book by the pool. The choice is yours for the experience that words cannot adequately define. A welcoming attitude coupled with service permeates throughout the ranch making each guest feel that he/she belongs to the Lost Valley Family. My family of nine wanted to stay another week...that says it all!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvlranch, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

We would be very honored to have your family of nine back for another week at Lost Valley Ranch, so maybe next time you can make it two! Thanks for the review and if you have any suggestions for us, please give our office a call. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

There is something special about Lost Valley Ranch and i can tell you hundreds of stories that will say how wonderful this place is to me and my family. The food is great, the cabins are rustic and fabulous. The scenery and fresh air is breath taking, but it's the staff, the Fosters and the friends that make Lost Valley the most special place to be. It had been 24 years since my last full week at the ranch and i was nervous that it wouldn't match my memories but it did and so much more. Watching my nieces and nephews fall in-love with the ranch was the best part. They got it!!, they understand what i have been saying to them for their entire lives. My stories won't mean much to you so i want to hear yours, because i will be able to re-live my vacation through your memories. Lost Valley is a must and you will fall in-love like everyone that has had the pleasure of being a guest or staff member at Lost Valley Ranch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank juliekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvlranch, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thanks for the fantastic review and we are very thankful that your latest experience was enjoyable, the only request is don't wait another 24 years to visit!

We look forward to having you on our side of the cattle guard in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Lost Valley is a vacation the whole family can enjoy. My kids love it so much, that they choose it over DisneyWorld. My wife loves the setting, the food, and the time with the family. I enjoy the horseback-riding and trap shooting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempletonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you so much for continuing to choose to spend your family vacation here at Lost Valley Ranch. We love having you return year after year. Thank you also for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to having you back across the cattle guard soon for more fun, food, horseback riding, trap shooting and time together as a family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Although my body has been home from our first stay at Lost Valley ranch for a week, my mind is still there soaking in the peaceful mountain views and breathing in the clean mountain air. The experience was truly what a vacation should be, about rest, relaxation, being restored by vistas too broad to capture in photos, putting away the calendar,car keys, phone and computer and escaping the grip of work that now often follows us digitally. The many bright, engaging young adults and other staff make sure your stay is memorable. Along with the hearty wonderful meals, there is a fair amount of refreshing physical challenge through riding and hiking the beautiful trails surrounding the ranch. My husband and I are regular runners and exercisers but we were quite challeged by the steep climbing and rewarded with spectacular views at the top, along with the very pleasant company of other guests staff.You can join in lots of activity or pass some of it up for a nap or a walk in quiet, beautiful solitude. We regret not bringing our family of 6 here when they were young, as we were very budget conscious. That was a mistake. We now understand why. Bob and Karen Foster invest heavily in the quality staff they assemble and the family spirit spills over warmly to the guests and children. There is no skimping on service, and no price tag for the loving inclusion the staff extends as you become a part of their ranch family. It is no wonder Lost Valley becomes a family tradition for many. We have been to 3 other ranches before in Arizona and Montana, but this one is in a class of its own. Of course we will be back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a cabin near the corral and dining hall so it was easy to walk back and forth for forgotten items, etc.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

As I read this review, I am impressed and awed by the way that you described your experience at Lost Valley Ranch as well as your interpretation of the quality of our staff. We are happy to hear that you received the relaxation and rejuvenation that we strive to give our guests during their stay. We look forward to the day that you cross our cattle guard again to experience that same rest and restoration that comes from being in a remote and quiet location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews