We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solice and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solice and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We needed some time alone and a place to have fun. The Mt. Goat Lodge was so comfortable and welcoming. It's location is ideal for snowshoeing, skiing, soaking in the hot springs. The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable and the views of Mt. Princeton are amazing! The hosts are great and the goats were cute. Their breakfast was so tasty and the variety was good. The goat cheese and yogurt were yummy. Our dog, Honey, loved the treats, dog bed and doggie friends to play with. She thought the goats were interesting too! WE are going back!

Room Tip: ask for the Mt. Princeton Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    47
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
183
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here as a group and the accomodation is very good with big clean rooms in a fantastic setting. Breakfast was not what i had expected from the reviews on here and was pretty much a take it or leave it basis with limited offerings if you did not want what had been cooked that day. Gina could benefit from a hospitality course as she seemed to blow hot and cold and at times we felt like we were more of an inconvenience to her as opposed to paying guests who handed over a lot of money for a room for the night (we were there for 6 nights so had plenty of time to make an assesment) she even got upset one day when a few of us went off to Colorado Springs for the day and didnt eat the breakfast as we wanted to be on the road early. Antoinette the cook/housekeeper was much friendlier. Overall a nice place to stay and maybe our experience would have been different as a couple.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaingoatlodge, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Regarding breakfast choices, dietary restrictions, etc.-- If we know about it in advance it is very helpful. When your group was here, we specifically asked about certain menu choices and actually revised our normal offerings to fit your groups requests. As for my Hospitality, my time was extremely limited due to a busier than normal promotion that was causing me to be on the phone from 5am until 10pm daily, in addition to the demands of the goat farm that I run. So, I do apologize if you didn't get the 100% Gina personality that people know and love! I do appreciate your kind words about my assistant Antoinette - when I am unable to be "on duty" (24 hours a day) I am relieved to know that Antoinette is there to take such good care of our guests -and for that, she is doing her job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights at the Mountain Goat Lodge and loved every minute. This B&B had it all. From the luxury of a hot tub on a crisp and clear Colorado night to the grit of REAL farm work in the Goat Husbandry class (and don't forget to sign up for making cheese!). The baby goats (kids) were simply adorable, Gina's passion for her animals was contagious, and the other guests were warm and welcoming. Other perks were the full access movie channels, the spot-on restaurant recommendations, and the best French toast I have had in a long time. P.S. Get the full farm experience, bring an old pair of jeans and shirt and get in with the goats.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaingoatlodge, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words - we really enjoy the goats and the classes, esp. when students are so enthusiastic! Hope you can come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 days at Mountain Goat Lodge and enjoyed every second of it. The setting is breathtaking and the lodge is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I loved that there were several different sitting areas, the library upstairs and a large, inviting living room downstairs. The guest rooms were large, each very tastefully decorated and with large windows to enjoy the views. The breakfasts were delicious, and extremely generous. We skiied at Monarch Mountain while there, and couldn't wait to get back in the afternoon for the hot tub. It's set on a raised deck with 360 degree views, the water was hot, and afternoon snacks were provided. So relaxing! The goats, especially the newborns, are so cute and add a truly unique element to the lodge. We highly recommend you visit Gina, the goats, and enjoy this special lodge.

Room Tip: The Princeton is on the back of the lodge and has beautiful mountain views to wake up to. I honestl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

You never know how the website will match the reality of your selection. And this B & B is absolutely superb! Being a dog owner, finding a truly animal-friendly place is so important - and Mt.Goat Lodge is incredible. The accommodations are wonderful, comfortable, clean -just top notch all the way around. My dogs had run of house when I was around and got plenty of hugs and kisses from the guests and other pets.
The best was watching a baby goat being born - unbelievable. And got to hold them - so sweet.
Oh, and the cheese-making class - well, I'm not a cook in any sense of the word, but even I caught on! Feta, Chevre, Panier, Yogurt, Ricotta and Mozzarella! With samples to take home. What a treat.
The breakfasts are outstanding - enough for the whole day! And a different breakfast each day (I was there 3 nights). Eggs from her chickens, milk and yogurt from her goats - baked goods - and coffee any way you like it! Gina's a barista to boot!
So bottom line - 10 stars if there is such a rating. And very reasonable. The best is that she attracts really nice guests too - all the better!
Enjoy - don't miss this experience. And the town is darling.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Stayed in a suite one night - really nice and roomy and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaingoatlodge, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I am always pleased to get such good reviews, (but also fear we will disappoint future guests with maybe too high of expectations) At the MGL we try hard to make our guests feel comfortable, and we are VERY informal. I am glad you enjoyed the cheese class, and esp. glad the timing worked out for you to witness a kidding - the first of this year! Your sweet dogs were a hit, and we cant wait for you all to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
7.3 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
18.4 km away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
8.4 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
20.6 km away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
31.8 km away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Property: Mountain Goat Lodge
Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price range (per night): $307 - $309
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing