We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
4
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bathrooms and showers great campground reservoir hookups elk yurt telluride
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We have camped a few other places this summer but, this place is by far our favorite.We stayed up on the Elk Loop at the Dutch Charlie turn off. We stayed at site 169. Arrived Friday at noon. This site was great. At first we got a little nervous, because Its a one way going around and our door and awning was on the opposite side. We weren't real sure if we were allowed to pull our trailer in going the other way but, we did it. And of course we started thinking how we would get out and get turned with a 19' trailer. Then we decided to think about it when we got ready to leave on Sunday. The camp hosts came by Lois & Bob. They told us this was ok and they would help us get out when the time came. They were awesome hosts. This site is pretty close to the shower area (bring quarters), also laundry, and clean bathrooms. AND, a playground if you have kiddos. Great for bike riding, hiking and just to go off site and explore. We went to Ouray hot Springs which was about 10 minutes away. Great central area to venture out. We are already working on a plan for sites we want next camping season. There was so many nice spots to choose from. I do prefer the Elk Ridge area just because there are so many trees. Lots of good hiking trails, too. Not real tough ones. We did not fish or swim do to the change of the season it is September and the weather was perfect. Cost with a reservation online with the park was 50.00 for 2 nights. Includes a reservation fee. We had electricity and a water spicket was close if we needed it. The camp host Lois and Bob keep the camp spots pretty clean for the next arrival. So just to remind people check your site when you leave those folks work hard keeping it so nice. I am sure they appreciate it when people clean up after themselves. Happy Camping all:)

Room Tip: Elk Ridge Loop is in the trees. Loops A,B and C are closer to the water but less tree coverage.
Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank karenrn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wonderful state park. We stayed in riverside site, full hookups with 30 amp service. Ran 1 AC during midday, but opened windows to cool breezes at night. Lovely views of mountains and close to lots of 4WD trails in Ouray!!

Room Tip: Choose a riverside site
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pbggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've stayed in the Ridgway yurts a handful of times since 2003 and love the campground - beautiful views, great laundry room, showers, friendly staff and very relaxing. This past time (early in June 2014) we booked a yurt and for $80 a night it should be clean. There's not that many surfaces to clean off. Most of the living area was clean but they seriously need to clean the ceiling fan - it looked like something out of one of those reality tv shows with all the dust and grime absolutely caked in layers.
On this last stay there was a bear (an injured one) that visited and the park rangers were excellent at tracking him through the park and making sure the campers were safe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Type-A-Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Our boy scout troop camped there and did some cooking, biking, fishing, and hiking. Its nice and clean. Friendly. Boys really enjoyed
Themselves. Definitely would come again. Close to home.great for us for early camping.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sherwoodsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in the Dutch Charlie Dakota Terraces. We drove from Moab and arrived in the early afternoon. The workers were all very nice. We just camped here as a walk-in. There were plenty of openings and I did not want to pay the $10 fee to reserve on-line. It is bad enough they charge a $7 entry fee per day on top of the $22 camping fee. They also charge to use the showers. I just don't like to be nickel and dimed to death. It would be better if they would just charge flat fee like $30 per night. The sites and restrooms were clean. The sites were very nice with a patio, fire ring, grill, picnic table or two and some were covered. Our shared water was very convenient. It was right in between our site and the one right next to us. You just have to fill up your tank and unhook the water. No splitters are allowed. A sign is posted on the water faucet and the host came and told us right after we pulled in. The views were of the reservoir and the mountains. The trees are all fairly small in the Terraces. There were a lot more trees in the Elk Ridge Campground. Many of those did not have a view though. Park is an easy drive to Ouray, Montrose and Black Canyon of the Gunnison NP. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews