We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 201
USD 196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 129
USD 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timber Ridge Lodge(Ouray)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
USD 192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 170
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ouray Inn(Ouray)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matterhorn Motel(Ouray)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
USD 211
USD 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ouray)(Great Value!)
USD 147
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs(Ouray)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
4
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathrooms and showersgreat campgroundreservoirhookupselkyurttelluride
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Volunteers were super friendly. Staff was extra friendly. Bathrooms clean. Each site was picked up and swept after the camper/trailer rolled out. So much to enjoy in the area: birding, boating, fishing, biking, hiking. Ice is offered this year too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krazykatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Great starting point for various well known roads and areas for fall leaf peeping. Full hook ups available into October (water will be turned off at night if freezing temps are forecasted). Layout of campsites gave you privacy. State Park staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Looks like it would be a great place for spring and summer camping also. Lots of trails around the campground. Easy to access fishing areas. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kay9040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My buddy and I stayed here during the Telluride Bluegrass Festival in June. It's a little far for that daily commute but otherwise it's the nicest state park I've ever stayed in. Clean, well laid out, nice showers, a pretty lake, and a terrific visitors center. Congrats, Colorado!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beautiful park! If you can get into the campgrounds at Dakota Terraces in Dutch Charlie, or the Elk Ridge Campground, you'll get the expansive views of Mt Sneffels and the San Juans.

Unfortunately, we arrived 10 minutes before the gate attendant closed up for the night (8PM), and all those good scenic spots were taken. She directed us down the road to the Pa-Co-Chu Puck part of the park as there was more availability there (but no mountain views), but its entrance was down the highway a couple miles. She promised she'd call the attendant there to wait for us. I was a bit put off by the fact that these separate park sections aren't connected by any road, but oh well.

We sped to Pa-Co-Chu Puck, and the VERY friendly and helpful gate attendant told us there was plenty of availability. We got a walk-in tent sight (the park provides some wheel barrows so you can transport your luggage to the campsite, since it's a bit of a walk if you don't have backpacks). One pit toilet was a short walk away right across from the ADA site, while a larger bathroom with stalls and sinks was on the other side of the parking lot (much farther away).

A deer greeted us as we set up our tent. The Uncompahgre River flowed by our site, so it was really nice with the gurgling water. In the morning, you can hear the the traffic on US 550, but I think it was less noisy than the other areas as we were set farther back. Our views were of the red mesas and canyon walls with pinon pines.

$18 for a primitive site for the night, plus $7 day pass = $25.

Room Tip: Pa-Co-Chu Puck area is least populated, but it also has the least scenic views as the San Juans are not viewable from here.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have stayed at this campground many times and LOVE it. The sites are spacious and private. The showers and laundry facilities are very clean and nice. And the view of the mountains is spectacular!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank DebbieAdkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews