We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Pagosa”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stopped here on the way to New Mexico. First time to stay at this property. It is an older Motel but well maintained. The room was very comfortable and clean - the heat was even on in the room when we went in. The Pagosa Hot Springs are right across the street, a short walk.
We did have a small problem at check in - I travel with a small service dog because of a severe hearing loss. The desk clerk demanded to see papers proving she was a service dog, this is a violation of the ADA. I explained this to him but he was insistant on some proof which I do not carry, only her vest and tags. It was a minor inconvienence but be aware if you have a service dog.
The attached restaurant serves a continental breakfast to guest and offers a hot breakfast discount. We opted for the hot breakfast and it was outstanding! The waitress was also the cook and cashier she was very friendly and outgoing and a great cook.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Windwalker1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 250 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Oak Ridge Lodge while skiing at the Wolf Creek Ski Area in early January 2012. We had originally planned to ski for the week at Vail and nearby resorts, but this year the snow was so meager in that area (and almost everywhere in the western US) that after 2 days skiing there, we decided to pick up stakes and go where the snow was – Wolf Creek. This was a great decision and well worth the 4-hour drive each way (plus the double payment for housing, since we were still paying for the condo in Vail!). We originally planned to ski here 2 days, but after a taste the first day, we decided to stay 3. The Oak Ridge Lodge (OR) in Pagosa Springs had good reviews, so we decided to base there. By the way, if you're skiing Wolf Creek, you can stay in Pagosa Springs or South Fork. If you're coming from the Vail area, South Fork is on the way, so Pagosa Springs involves more driving, but it is a larger town with more choices of restaurants, hotels, grocery stores, and of course the springs, if that's your thing. So, your choice.
The OR was not luxurious, but didn’t have the feel of a low-budget hotel, either. It was a nice compromise. I asked for a quiet room, and was given a room facing the parking lot, which was perfect – no noise at all. After seeing the setup, I don’t imagine any of the rooms get much street noise. The room itself was good size, very clean and well maintained, with a fairly large old style TV. The bed was wonderful – not too hard and not too soft. The wifi in the room worked well, although Netflix was inconsistent. I suspect that at prime time, the system just doesn’t have quite enough band-width to handle high-data applications like Netflix. But otherwise, web browsing was very high speed. We ate one night at the hotel’s restaurant, which had a simple and limited menu, but the food was very good and plentiful. Their house-smoked turkey was absolutely delicious. My wife got so much of it on her ‘’turkey caesar salad’’ that we saved some and made a sandwich the next day. And speaking of food, there was a microwave available to guests in a common area. The hotel had the usual outdoor hot tub, which was clean and felt good on sore muscles after a day on the slopes. But the best feature was the indoor pool. It was maintained at a comfortably warm temperature, which encouraged prolonged soaks and socializing with other guests. It was not huge, but big enough to swim laps if you were so inclined. (We weren’t). All the staff were very nice and helpful. My only complaint – not shared by my wife – was the meager selection at the continental breakfast buffet. I’ve stayed at many hotels of this kind of over the years, and this one had about the fewest choices I’ve ever seen. My wife looked at this as an opportunity to eat light and healthy, and noted that they offer a $4 upgrade to a nice hot breakfast if you want one. All of that is true, but in my view if you advertise a continental breakfast buffet, it should have more choices than this one. (As I recall, it was just 3 juices, milk, white bread, corn flakes, fruit loops, coffee cake, hard-boiled eggs, oranges, grapefruit, cheese, and yogurt – the same every day). I ended up going to the grocery store and bringing my own bananas and whole wheat bread for toast the last 2 days of our stay. But all in all, we had a very pleasant stay for a reasonable price, and we would certainly consider staying here again if we come back to Wolf Creek, as we hope we do!

Room Tip: Apparently the deluxe rooms have microwaves and fridges, but there is a microwave for guest use in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I spent one night here in late December. We were very impressed.
The young lady that checked us in was very friendly and helpful.
We ate breakfast in the resturant the next morning.
It is conveniently located across the street from the Hot Springs and we spent about two hours there before leaving town. It was quite an experience soaking in a 105 deg. hot springs during a beautiful snow storm.
The accommodations are basic but the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff friendly.
for a one night stay, you can't ask for more.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golferman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

First time not staying at the Pagosa Inn, and bottom line I won't make the same mistake twice.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ur12cujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This facility is right across the street from The Springs Resort which has the best hot spring pools I have ever been to. And the rooms at Oak Ridge Lodge are less than half the price! I have stayed at The Springs in the past and the price difference is just not worth it. And I have stayed in rooms at The Springs that are a further walk to the pools than walking across the street from Oak Ridge. It is so close I was walking back and forth in flip flops, bathing suit and robe in a snow storm! The room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The only negative thing was the hair dryer they provided did not work. I chose not to use any of their other amenities, like their hot pool, hot tub and free Continental breakfast, so I can't comment on them.

One general comment about Pagosa Springs...they need more restaurants. I seem to always find myself there on a Monday during a snow storm. And my experience is that most of their restaurants are closed on Monday nights. But see my review of The Rose for a fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysMexicoDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
5.6 km away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
587 reviews
6.7 km away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
157 reviews
4.0 km away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
140 reviews
5.4 km away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
657 reviews
1.0 km away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 158 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-1200 (Formerly Oak Ridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: $118 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated, Full service hotel with great amenities. Historic Downtown location next to the deepest hot springs in the world. Free Hot Breakfast w/ cook to order omelette station, Free Wi fi, Indoor salt water swimming pool. Children under 12 stay free. Pets allowed in designated areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Ridge Hotel Pagosa Springs
Oak Ridge Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing