We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Oak Ridge Lodge while skiing at the Wolf Creek Ski Area in early January 2012. We had originally planned to ski for the week at Vail and nearby resorts, but this year the snow was so meager in that area (and almost everywhere in the western US) that after 2 days skiing there, we decided to pick up stakes and go where the snow was – Wolf Creek. This was a great decision and well worth the 4-hour drive each way (plus the double payment for housing, since we were still paying for the condo in Vail!). We originally planned to ski here 2 days, but after a taste the first day, we decided to stay 3. The Oak Ridge Lodge (OR) in Pagosa Springs had good reviews, so we decided to base there. By the way, if you're skiing Wolf Creek, you can stay in Pagosa Springs or South Fork. If you're coming from the Vail area, South Fork is on the way, so Pagosa Springs involves more driving, but it is a larger town with more choices of restaurants, hotels, grocery stores, and of course the springs, if that's your thing. So, your choice.
The OR was not luxurious, but didn’t have the feel of a low-budget hotel, either. It was a nice compromise. I asked for a quiet room, and was given a room facing the parking lot, which was perfect – no noise at all. After seeing the setup, I don’t imagine any of the rooms get much street noise. The room itself was good size, very clean and well maintained, with a fairly large old style TV. The bed was wonderful – not too hard and not too soft. The wifi in the room worked well, although Netflix was inconsistent. I suspect that at prime time, the system just doesn’t have quite enough band-width to handle high-data applications like Netflix. But otherwise, web browsing was very high speed. We ate one night at the hotel’s restaurant, which had a simple and limited menu, but the food was very good and plentiful. Their house-smoked turkey was absolutely delicious. My wife got so much of it on her ‘’turkey caesar salad’’ that we saved some and made a sandwich the next day. And speaking of food, there was a microwave available to guests in a common area. The hotel had the usual outdoor hot tub, which was clean and felt good on sore muscles after a day on the slopes. But the best feature was the indoor pool. It was maintained at a comfortably warm temperature, which encouraged prolonged soaks and socializing with other guests. It was not huge, but big enough to swim laps if you were so inclined. (We weren’t). All the staff were very nice and helpful. My only complaint – not shared by my wife – was the meager selection at the continental breakfast buffet. I’ve stayed at many hotels of this kind of over the years, and this one had about the fewest choices I’ve ever seen. My wife looked at this as an opportunity to eat light and healthy, and noted that they offer a $4 upgrade to a nice hot breakfast if you want one. All of that is true, but in my view if you advertise a continental breakfast buffet, it should have more choices than this one. (As I recall, it was just 3 juices, milk, white bread, corn flakes, fruit loops, coffee cake, hard-boiled eggs, oranges, grapefruit, cheese, and yogurt – the same every day). I ended up going to the grocery store and bringing my own bananas and whole wheat bread for toast the last 2 days of our stay. But all in all, we had a very pleasant stay for a reasonable price, and we would certainly consider staying here again if we come back to Wolf Creek, as we hope we do!

Room Tip: Apparently the deluxe rooms have microwaves and fridges, but there is a microwave for guest use in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    87
    69
    41
    50
See reviews for
88
112
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I spent one night here in late December. We were very impressed.
The young lady that checked us in was very friendly and helpful.
We ate breakfast in the resturant the next morning.
It is conveniently located across the street from the Hot Springs and we spent about two hours there before leaving town. It was quite an experience soaking in a 105 deg. hot springs during a beautiful snow storm.
The accommodations are basic but the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff friendly.
for a one night stay, you can't ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golferman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

First time not staying at the Pagosa Inn, and bottom line I won't make the same mistake twice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ur12cujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

This facility is right across the street from The Springs Resort which has the best hot spring pools I have ever been to. And the rooms at Oak Ridge Lodge are less than half the price! I have stayed at The Springs in the past and the price difference is just not worth it. And I have stayed in rooms at The Springs that are a further walk to the pools than walking across the street from Oak Ridge. It is so close I was walking back and forth in flip flops, bathing suit and robe in a snow storm! The room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The only negative thing was the hair dryer they provided did not work. I chose not to use any of their other amenities, like their hot pool, hot tub and free Continental breakfast, so I can't comment on them.

One general comment about Pagosa Springs...they need more restaurants. I seem to always find myself there on a Monday during a snow storm. And my experience is that most of their restaurants are closed on Monday nights. But see my review of The Rose for a fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysMexicoDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NM
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed Thanksgiving weekend 2011. Picked it because it's across the street from the springs & a lot cheaper. But you get what you pay for. Hot tub was broken which is a serious downer on a ski trip (& staff didn't seem to be in a hurry to get it fixed). Sauna didn't work either. Free "continental" breakfast was bare bones; $4 gets you eggs & meat. Quantity, not quality; we went elsewhere after the 1st morning. No extra blankets available. Didn't replenish shampoo, soap, etc., on subsequent days. Wife couldn't handle the bed (her back) & slept on couch. TV was old CRT w/fuzzy picture. First hotel stay in Pagosa Springs so I don't know the local standards vs. price, but we'll be skiing at Wolf Creek this winter & we're going to (hopefully) find a better place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakRidgeLodge, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear valued guest,

I am sorry for the inconvenience that you accrued during you stay with us. We know how much our guest enjoy the hot tub and sauna here at the Oak Ridge Lodge, which is why we made sure that any issues that accrued during the busy holiday were taken care of in a timely fashion. The maintenance staff was able to fix the issue of the hot tub very quickly and I am happy to say that it is running fine.

We do offer a free continental breakfast in the mornings to our guests; however we also provide hot upgrade options and a breakfast menu for our guest to choose from for a small fee.

The staff at the Oak Ridge Lodge takes pride in providing professional and quality care to our guests and hope that you will think about staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.7 km away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
5.4 km away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
4.0 km away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
5.5 km away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.0 km away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 158 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-1200 (Formerly Oak Ridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price range (per night): $133 - $203
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated, Full service hotel with great amenities. Historic Downtown location next to the deepest hot springs in the world. Free Hot Breakfast w/ cook to order omelette station, Free Wi fi, Indoor salt water swimming pool. Children under 12 stay free. Pets allowed in designated areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Ridge Hotel Pagosa Springs
Oak Ridge Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing